Guys,

I have read several posts on the subject but what I am looking for is quite specific so appreciate your guidance/help. Apologies if this sounds like a repeat somehow. I have never used device switch wizard before (in fact I have never used back up restore function - being a newbie and all) so pls guide me like a 10-year old as I do not wish to mess up the new phone.

My 8900 does not have third party apps, just 2 external themes, one of which I am using now.

Many users suggest device switch wizard to transfer all contacts, apps, calendar, mails, BBM PINs etc. Perfect replica of the old phone, including BIS transfer.

What I want is to transfer emails, sms, phonebook, BBM contacts, and calendar only. I do not want the themes to go along, wanting to preserve original set ups of 9700 and 5.0 OS. I am also afraid the 8900 themes won't work with 5.0 OS of the 9700.

Can device switch wizard accomodate this? Is there a function inside (during the transfer) that allows me to choose emails/sms/phonebook/BBM contacts/calendar only? ........NO themes, third party apps please.

OR would I be better off using back up restore function within DM? Plus manual switch of PIN/IMEI via BIS?

Many thanks for your time/comments.
    01-30-10 11:23 PM
    if your 8900 is 5.0 your themes they will transfer ok, if 4.6.1 they most likely wont work (5.0 vs 4.6) , use the device wizard but do a back up first ( if a problem comes up you have a file, do a backup every so often) i do every 2wks and i came from 8900 to 9700 used the wizard and saved me alot of time not having to reset all my ring tones/email/sms/mms tones etc as the wizard transfered all settings, contacts, calendar etc will be transfered as well
    01-31-10 01:03 AM