Hello
    When I connect my 8330 by USB to Vista computer so that I can use parts of the Desktop Manager I get an error message telling me that " The Application Loader Wizard requires the BB Device Manager to be installed. Please contact customer support." I can back up my BB with no problem (as long as I connect after I have loaded the Desktop Manager, otherwise I get the same message,.but when I wish to add or remove an application or do anything else I get this error message. And at the same time the DM looks for device updates and freezes the program and I have to open Task Manager to get out of the Desktop Manager. Or Windows tells me that I have a problem and do I want to close the program??!!
    I have uninstalled and reinstalled v.4.5 several times with the same problem. I have contacted customer support with my carrier and still have no resolution.
    I am pretty new to the BB Curve which I love but I just wish I knew what to do with the Desktop Manager. I can see the Device Manager on my task bar so it is installed along with the Desktop Manager, so why do I keep getting this irritating message. You guys on the forum are my last resort. I hope I have posted this in the correct link.
    Thanks for any help you can give me.
    Jen
    02-20-10 12:33 PM
    BlackBerry Desktop Manager has evolved through several versions. Your best bet, is to remove the older version and start with a fresh downloaded version. Use Windows Control Panel / Programs to remove the old one.

When you do the new install, it will prompt you to allow it to check for updates. Feel free to de-select that options, it makes life a lot simpler.

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...93E4F3BB068C22
    02-20-10 12:47 PM