In May of 2010 I downloaded DTM for my 9700. The only function that I use is the modem for tethering to get Internet access. I DO NOT USE ANY OTHER FUNCTION. I've changed laptops and the DTM I have downloaded is not nearly as user friendly as the version from back in May, 2010. Can I still find and download that version and if so, how? I'm not a techie so please just give me the layman's version of what to do. I always appreciate your help. Thanks in advance.
    RB
    02-27-11 11:09 PM
    What was the version you were running that you downloaded back in May 2010?

You can probably find it here: https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...E4F82F9F00E7D4
    Select "Blackberry Desktop Software v5.0 Service Pack 1"
    From what you've described it was v5.0.1 B30, although B80 should be that different
    02-27-11 11:17 PM
    I'd be interested in knowing how you use your BB as a tether to provide internet to your laptop. Perhaps it's just because I use a Mac which isn't applicable, but Desktop Manager is really limited for what I can do with it on mine. I can't backup pictures, videos or contacts even, and only have the option of backup/restore/sync and management of my applications.
    02-27-11 11:22 PM
    I will check that out, thanks. I'm on T-Mobile. Does that make any difference?
    Thanks again.
    02-27-11 11:22 PM
    No it won't make a difference at all. These desktop software is pretty much universal with all carriers
    02-27-11 11:23 PM
    No, that makes no difference in what Desktop Manager can do for you with a single exception, if you have Mobile Backup enabled you won't be able to backup your contacts with BBDM until you turn it off. I hate that and don't see why you can't have both working at same time, but whatever, it is what it is.
    02-27-11 11:24 PM