im new to BB and am following the instruction to upload a new OS to my 9930, but i cannot find Application loader anywhere in my Desktop Software.

my 9930 did not come with a cd to load, but this is what my corp. told me i needed to manage my device.

i already backed up the device and have deleted the vendor file from RIM folder. now i am stuck. i have dl'd the new os to my desktop, but when i open the Desktop software it doesnt prompt me for a new os nor can i find the application loader.

any help would be appreciated.

thanks
    12-03-11 10:53 AM
    If you are not installing an OS from your carrier then there may well be a 2nd Vendor.XML file that you need to delete.

From memory it could be in C/Users/Your Name/AppData/Roaming/RIM

If you can't find it do an advanced search and make sure that you have checked the box for search hidden files.

Once the 2nd Vendor file has gone the OS should show up in your Desktop Manager after a reboot of the PC.

Hope this helps.
    12-03-11 11:05 AM
    all vendor.xlm files are deleted.

this is my desktop software. where can i go to get to application loader?

12-03-11 11:26 AM
    You have to find Loader manually on your PC...

C:/Program Files/Common Files/Research In Motion/AppLoader/Loader.exe
    12-03-11 11:28 AM
    12-03-11 11:32 AM
    Follow these direction to the T & you cant go wrong.

Here's my short-version OS install guide if anyone needs a refresher...

ELITE1's Quick OS UPGRADE GUIDE

1. (Optional) Uninstall any previous OS from your PC.
    2. Download OS to PC. Use Internet Explorer to do so, not Firefox or Chrome. (For leaked versions, the browser is irrelevant though.)
      *If 100% certain you've previously used FF or Chrome on same PC to DL an OS successfully, feel free to use FF or Chrome again.
    3. Following successful DL, run OS file to install OS on PC.