02-03-14 10:18 AM
273 ... 7891011
tools
    Fact is he didn't read the tag/instructions and broke it. If I broke an iPhone 5 because I tried to pry it open thinking it must have a removable battery, can I then write a review article saying how poor a design it is not having a removable battery and I broke it? NO!
    Quoted for truth

Posted via CB10
    11-07-13 12:25 PM
    I'm a tech journalist myself with close to 16 years of experience covering technology. I mostly cover business tech, but I review all BlackBerry smartphones and reviewed the Z30 too. While I did not pry off the piece Guillaume is referring to, I got the feeling some users would and mentioned it in my review on Firstpost.com, which is India's fastest growing digital brand and is from India's most respected media group--just in case anyone here thinks I'm a self-labelled journalist. I DO NOT think this reflects poor build quality and nor do I personally feel that anyone should consider not buying the Z30 because of this, but fact is--it DOES reflect a bit of poor design. Perhaps the intention was to have a tray or side-slot for a SIM/microSD, which was then trashed, but whatever the intention, the fact is that the piece of metal placed in that area is misleading. Now, folks can jump on Guillaume as some have done, but facts are facts and reviewers are supposed to present facts. You can argue all you want, blah, blah, blah, but that doesn't change the fact. Personally, I have mentioned this, but don't consider it important enough to deduct points for build quality, but the reader has a right to know. He's putting down money for a product and if I'm helping him make a buying decision, I need to tell him everything--good and bad, add my opinion and leave it to him whether he considers this a deal-breaker or not.
    But this is the whole point. Critizising this thing as a strange design element and making readers aware of it not being the SD/SIM card door is fair.