Built for Business - Learn more about BlackBerry KEY2
  1. qphone's Avatar
    Damn so frustrating. The good news, I backup settings, data including app executables via BB Link, NO MEDIA since i back those using USB mass storage to another folder this way customize backup is smaller and faster to backup. Once backed up, I remove and format 64GB microSD card to make a truly clean install.

    After that...I unplug and from my phone i do a security wipe. When finished and powered off, I put the formatted 64GB microSD card back in, I then let it boot up, do the quick initialize plus enter my blackberry ID. Once quickly settled I go to software updates and 10.3.1.15.81 update available (1GB). I allow and once it's done...I go through the quick initial steps (entering blackberry ID) then when it's all done...I make sure that the microSD card is properly formatted via the phone. Now that's everything is perfect, I plug it in via USB to connect to BlackBerry Link to restore the (custom) settings, data and app executables. Once done I then drag and drop via USB mass storage all my media files back to the microSD card.

    I reinstall snap to make sure all my android apps are up to date, the same with blackberry world. After all that...my Telus is working beautifully with official 10.3.1.1581.

    NOW THE NEXT DAY IT'S MY WIFE'S Z30 FOR ME TO REPEAT THE SAME PROCESS.

    The not so good news. After wiping her Z30 blah, blah, blah...WHY IS IT SAYING IT'S UP TO DATE WITH 10.2.1.3062 ??????? Plugging it in with BB LINK it also says that it's up to date. Where did 10.3.1.1581 go?

    Does anyone know where I can find official Telus 10.3.1.1581 autoloader? I really don't want to leave my wife's phone hanging in limbo after doing all the initial wiping process blah, blah, blah. Other wise I'm going to have to restore again to what it was roughly 2 hours ago.
    Last edited by qphone; 03-03-15 at 09:35 AM.
    03-03-15 09:14 AM
  2. jaydee5799's Avatar
    Just go here for the files for your wife's phone:
    http://forums.crackberry.com/bb10-le...oaders-995995/
    these files are the official OS.
    Download, unzip, close link, cable to your PC and click the exe
    03-03-15 09:17 AM
  3. qphone's Avatar
    Thanks Jaydee, doing the process now. Once it's all done...I'll let you know. Still wondering though why my wife's Z30 couldn't find it...downloading official direct from the carrier is by far the easiest but oh well...s*** happens. LOL


     BlackBerry Z30 smartphone on Telus Network
    03-03-15 09:33 AM
  4. qphone's Avatar
    Thanks jaydee for the tip,

    Guess it wasn't meant to be! Damn...my Z30 on 10.3. 1.1581is running smoothly including all my android apps.

    Now updating my wife's Z30 has hit a brick wall. After trying to download the autoloader...


    My second Z30 cant find latest official 10.3.1 software update, not even using BB Link-img_20150303_092540.jpg
    My second Z30 cant find latest official 10.3.1 software update, not even using BB Link-img_20150303_093112.jpg
    My second Z30 cant find latest official 10.3.1 software update, not even using BB Link-img_20150303_093142.jpg
    My second Z30 cant find latest official 10.3.1 software update, not even using BB Link-img_20150303_093203.jpg
    My second Z30 cant find latest official 10.3.1 software update, not even using BB Link-img_20150303_094655.jpg

    I can't even unzip the damn zip file. Aaaargh! Unknown compression method? Seriously? Like WTF? Downloaded it twice to make sure that the first time wasn't corrupted.

    Also just found out that Telus has pulled their official 10.3.1.1581 for a newer version sometime to be released next week.

    All I want to is update my wife's phone even if 10.3.1.1581 isn't good enough for Telus because it's working beautiful enough for me.

    Well...I guess it's restoring to what I had backed up roughly 6 hours ago as if I didn't even touch her phone at all.

    Boy was that a big waste of time starting at 4:30 AM this morning. Wife has today and tomorrow off and woke up early so that it would be done and updated by the time she got up. Oh well....

     BlackBerry Z30 smartphone on Telus Network
    Last edited by qphone; 03-03-15 at 12:13 PM.
    03-03-15 11:57 AM
  5. FF22's Avatar
    Thanks jaydee for the tip,

    Guess it wasn't meant to be! Damn...my Z30 on 10.3. 1.1581is running smoothly including all my android apps.

    Now updating my wife's Z30 has hit a brick wall. After trying to download the autoloader...


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20150303_092540.jpg 
Views:	438 
Size:	25.7 KB 
ID:	338440
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20150303_093112.jpg 
Views:	437 
Size:	46.6 KB 
ID:	338441
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20150303_093142.jpg 
Views:	437 
Size:	39.5 KB 
ID:	338442
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20150303_093203.jpg 
Views:	439 
Size:	50.1 KB 
ID:	338443
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20150303_094655.jpg 
Views:	439 
Size:	40.6 KB 
ID:	338444

    I can't even unzip the damn zip file. Aaaargh! Unknown compression method? Seriously? Like WTF? Downloaded it twice to make sure that the first time wasn't corrupted.

    Also just found out that Telus has pulled their official 10.3.1.1581 for a newer version sometime to be released next week.

    All I want to is update my wife's phone even if 10.3.1.1581 isn't good enough for Telus because it's working beautiful enough for me.

    Well...I guess it's restoring to what I had backed up roughly 6 hours ago as if I didn't even touch her phone at all.

    Boy was that a big waste of time starting at 4:30 AM this morning. Wife has today and tomorrow off and woke up early so that it would be done and updated by the time she got up. Oh well....

     BlackBerry Z30 smartphone on Telus Network
    At this point, you might be better served by waiting and not forcing the update. Hopefully, BB will figure out what's what and fix and reissue the OS.
    Carl Estes likes this.
    03-03-15 01:43 PM
  6. steakman911's Avatar
    ...Also just found out that Telus has pulled their official 10.3.1.1581 for a newer version sometime to be released next week....
    Really..? hmm, am running 2 Z-30's with Telus .1581 and zero issues to date....very Eenteresting.!
    I will have to watch for that.

    Curious as to what you were using to unzip with..??

    stk
    03-03-15 01:53 PM
  7. qphone's Avatar
    *UPDATE* just for the hell of it...I

    1. Transferred that downloaded autoloader to my USB stick
    2. Brought it over to my MacBook Pro
    3. Used the Mac's win zip to unzip
    (damn it worked)
    4. Transferred that unzipped exe back to the USB stick
    5. Plugged it back into windows desktop
    6. Clicked and ran as administrator.

    I now have 10.3.1.1581 on my wife's Z30.

     BlackBerry Z30 smartphone on Telus Network
    FF22 likes this.
    03-03-15 03:29 PM
  8. Makaveli@Beta's Avatar
    You were trying to unzip a 7zip file with win zip.

    That was your issue there.



    Posted via CB10
    03-03-15 05:10 PM
  9. Prem WatsApp's Avatar
    Yeah, 7zip rocks... :-)

    7zip.org

      "Oh Classic, you are the fairest here so true. But Passport is a thousand times more powerful than you..." (no offense, Classic is a great device, when it's charged)  
    03-03-15 07:15 PM
  10. ExplicitPromo's Avatar
    For the love of god don't let those z30 go dead. Keep them charged. More and more people are having bad issues with 10.3 on z30.

    http://btsc.webapps.blackberry.com/b...ListHelperImpl

    I would read that. It's too bad you got the update done imo. It's being pulled all over the place by carriers because of bad issues. Mine screen stays black now. Phone works, plug into hdmi and it's fine. Plug into power and the screen comes on but when unplugged, no.

    I understand the desire to have 10.3. It's killer. But wow, it's not ready for prime time on the z30. Mine is a model sta100-5

    Posted on my now almost useless z30 that won't wake up
    03-03-15 07:55 PM
  11. cbvinh's Avatar
    For the love of god don't let those z30 go dead. Keep them charged. More and more people are having bad issues with 10.3 on z30.

    KB36766-BlackBerry 10 smartphone Screen appears blank or black and will not power on after software update

    I would read that. It's too bad you got the update done imo. It's being pulled all over the place by carriers because of bad issues. Mine screen stays black now. Phone works, plug into hdmi and it's fine. Plug into power and the screen comes on but when unplugged, no.

    I understand the desire to have 10.3. It's killer. But wow, it's not ready for prime time on the z30. Mine is a model sta100-5

    Posted on my now almost useless z30 that won't wake up
    You've posted this many times, in multiple threads, along with the link. Do you know who reported the bug that created the report KB36766?
    03-03-15 08:07 PM
  12. ExplicitPromo's Avatar
    You've posted this many times, in multiple threads, along with the link. Do you know who reported the bug that created the report KB36766?
    No. Not personally. But I've been following this on 5 sites and the reports of people having screen issues is growing quite fast.

    Posted on my now almost useless z30 that won't wake up
    03-03-15 08:17 PM
  13. cbvinh's Avatar
    No. Not personally. But I've been following this on 5 sites and the reports of people having screen issues is growing quite fast.
    I found the thread on BlackBerry Support. It might not be just a 10.3.1.x issue, since there's been a report of it happening in 10.2.x. It seems like the BlackBerry moderator on that site has been actively soliciting log files to figure out what's going on.
    03-03-15 09:26 PM
  14. ExplicitPromo's Avatar
    I read one about it happening g on 10.2 as well but I had thought it was mistakenly reported as it was a different issue. That phone wasn't turning on. Similar to the Playbook issue that required stack charging. I might be wrong though. Read a lot of threads on this hoping for a fix to be found.

    Posted on my now almost useless z30 that won't wake up
    03-03-15 09:31 PM
  15. Nickysoroyal's Avatar
    Turn off your mobile Data and try looking for it over wifi. Worked for me...

    Posted via My Gorgeous white Z30
    03-03-15 10:00 PM
  16. qphone's Avatar
    You were trying to unzip a 7zip file with win zip.

    That was your issue there.



    Posted via CB10
    Yeah...that one just went right over my head. Just to show, that when frustration sets in...it's extremely easy to not see the obvious LOL

    I was lucky though that WinZip Pro also installed on my MBP was able to unzip without issues. This all started from 4 : 30am PST finishing to about 2:30pm trying to figure out why her Z30 wouldn't update and it turned into a massive snowball effect of WTF!!! LOL

     BlackBerry Z30 smartphone on Telus Network
    03-04-15 12:00 AM

Similar Threads

  1. How many of you guys use BB Assistant?
    By Blackberry-Prince in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 65
    Last Post: 04-17-15, 06:21 PM
  2. BBM Channel not posting Updates
    By breakingpoint0 in forum General BBM Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-15, 05:51 AM
  3. My New Classic (Part 2)
    By eliirodz in forum BlackBerry Classic
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-15, 09:21 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-15, 09:10 AM
  5. problem after bbm update..??
    By akbarlakhani in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-03-15, 09:07 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD