1. BB10QNX's Avatar
    Hi,

    Picked up a TDK A33, pairs, works and sounds great with my Z30. Only issue, when bluetooth connected, Z30 cannot control the volume . A33 will beep when using Z30 volume rockers, but won't increase/decrease volume. If I rock to the decrease side enough times, it will eventually just mute though and if I press the mute button, it will mute. Strange. Any ideas/thoughts? Thought the volume control was fixed back in 10.1 to make the BB device the master for volume control, no?

    The A33 is compatible with Bluetooth v2.1 + EDR with AAC. It's backward compatible with Bluetooth 1.2. It supports A2DP, HFP, and HSP protocols.

    TIA
    Last edited by BB10QNX; 12-29-13 at 10:28 AM.
    12-28-13 03:06 PM
  2. Gees97's Avatar
    I use a Turtle Beach PX5 headset for my Xbox One. I use Bluetooth to connect headset to my Z30. The Z30 has never been able to adjust music volume through headset. Only way I adjust volume is through Bluetooth controls on my Headset

    Posted via CB10
    12-28-13 11:00 PM
  3. BB10QNX's Avatar
    The Z30 has never been able to adjust music volume through headset. Only way I adjust volume is through Bluetooth controls on my Headset

    Posted via CB10
    Same here, only way to adjust volume is on the A33. It's the same with our Z10 as well. I've also written to TDK support to get their view, as the manual for the A33 states that volume can be adjusted either on the A33 or with the bluetoothed device. So, wondering why the Z30 and/or the Z10 will not do this, and if it's something that BlackBerry can correct in an update to allow the Z30/Z10 to become the master for volume control.
    Last edited by BB10QNX; 12-29-13 at 10:29 AM.
    12-29-13 07:51 AM
  4. BB10QNX's Avatar
    Moderator, please update thread title: change AC33 to A33, thanks!
    12-29-13 10:41 AM
  5. cbcastle's Avatar
    I have the same issue with a JBL Charge and the manufacturer says BB10 is supported but both my Z10 (10.2.1.1295) and PlayBook cannot change the volume level. iPhone works fine.

    Posted via CB10
    12-30-13 08:19 PM
  6. BB10QNX's Avatar
    Yes, this is very diappointing. Laptop connects just fine and becomes master volume control without issue. This has to be something in BB10, and BB really needs to get this fixed, can't believe they missed such an obvious feature.
    12-31-13 05:44 PM
  7. Clevus's Avatar
    I have a Z10 and a TDK A33 and have the same problem - cannot change volume from my Z10. What is strange is that I can control the volume with my Z10 on a Sony Bluetooth speaker SRS-BTX300 with no issues. It does seems to be a Blackberry problem - Apple devices can change the volume from their handsets for the A33. BB please fix!
    01-04-14 04:40 PM
  8. BB10QNX's Avatar
    That is very strange that your Z10 can control volume on the Sony speaker, hmmm. I got word back from TDK tech support, who continued to dig in and do some research to figure this out, and they ended up talking with BlackBerry tech support who notified them that the Z10 and Z30 did not control the volume on different bluetooth devices, and that it was meant to work like this by design. What the?? They didn't give the reason why though. Come on BB, if this is something that can be fixed, fix it!

    Ordered a BlackBerry Music Gateway though, with NFC, to plug into the 3.5mm of the A33 to see if that'll do it, if not, we certainly have a use for the BBMG elsewhere anyway, so no loss there.
    01-05-14 09:39 AM
  9. Clevus's Avatar
    []That is very strange that your Z10 can control volume on the Sony speaker, hmmm.
    Ordered a BlackBerry Music Gateway though, with NFC, to plug into the 3.5mm of the A33 to see if that'll do it, if not, we certainly have a use for the BBMG elsewhere anyway, so no loss there.[/QUOTE]

    I agree it is strange....I checked it out again today, it does control the volume on the Sony.
    01-05-14 09:59 PM
  10. coldfir3's Avatar
    Got a pair of Craig bt speakers on boxing day. I can control the volume perfectly using my z10

    Posted via CB10
    01-06-14 02:15 AM
  11. BB10QNX's Avatar
    Interesting, hmmm. Okay, so Sony works, Craig works, TDK, not so much. Now, I really wonder what the scoop is. Maybe what the BB tech told TDK is actully true and accurate, not made to work with different BT devices. Would be nice if they'd specify ahead of time to BB10 owners which ones would work, so folks would know right up front before purchasing different BT devices, ugh. If they do, I am unaware of it

    Got a pair of Craig bt speakers on boxing day. I can control the volume perfectly using my z10

    Posted via CB10
    01-06-14 07:57 PM
  12. BB10QNX's Avatar
    Well, hooked up the BlackBerry Music Gateway to the TDK A33, through the 3.5mm aux jack, turned the unit to 'AUX', connected via NFC through the Gateway and volume can now be controlled on the A33. The range is also phenominal. Now, if only the Gateway could be powered through the USB on the A33 while running on battery, that would be great, but it doesn't. The A33 has to be plugged in for it to work that way, or the Gateway itself needs to be plugged into an AC outlet, voiding the whole purpose of having a wireless BT speaker.

    The best method to this madness, is for BlackBerry to just simply look into and fix the BT issue, allowing the Z30/Z10 to have master volume control with the TDK A33. If other devices allow volume control of the A33 speaker, and if the Z30/Z10 works as master in BT mode, with other devices (in which they do!), then this issue would definitely appear to be a BlackBerry issue to fix.

    There's no reason we should have to have an excellent wireless BT speaker, wired to the Gateway, plugged into an AC outlet, just to gain master volume control with our Z30/Z10's on this unit. BlackBerry should be able to make this work wirelessly through BT, period.

    BlackBerry, please fix it!
    01-19-14 09:59 AM
  13. BB10QNX's Avatar
    Which model Craig's are working for you?
    01-19-14 10:02 AM

Similar Threads

  1. BlackBerry Maps volume
    By grapenuts in forum BlackBerry Z30
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-04-16, 05:51 PM
  2. Z30 Volumes get detected after I remove the SIM
    By GurudevBBZ10 in forum BlackBerry Z30
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-17-14, 10:49 PM
  3. Z30 Connection Problem on 10.2.1.1925
    By OompaLoompaNo12 in forum BlackBerry Z30
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-29-13, 11:28 PM
  4. Social accounts issue in my Z30.
    By Jerome Cuevas in forum BlackBerry Z30
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-28-13, 09:43 PM
  5. FATHER gets new iPhone 5S to replace his broken 4S, still wants Z30. Sml screen, low res, malware.
    By Tony Tran1 in forum General BlackBerry News, Discussion & Rumors
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-28-13, 03:30 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD