Hello CB!

I've been a regular reader of CB but a first time poster. Please forgive if I do something wrong.

I (still) use the BB Curve 8520 and I have been using it for the past 2 years. I love the phone (my first BB!) because it gets all my work done and needless to say, I love BlackBerry. But I've used it and abused it and it's time to move on.

I am from India and we do not have the "contract" system here. As a result, BlackBerry phones are very expensive for a student such as me (both Q10 and Z30 are ~$600). However, with the Z10 prices dropping drastically (now ~$400), I am really keen on getting it. As is the case almost everywhere, the sales people at mobile stores here are never inclined to show you the BlackBerry and hence I haven't been able to play around with it much but I am very excited to try it.

There are a few things that are holding me back from going and getting it.

It's old. The online stores are cheapest shops to buy but I don't know how old is the stock of phones that they have.

Also, it is very confusing when I think about where BlackBerry is heading. Is it going to be around for say the next 1.5-2 years to support my phone? Because I intend to use it for that long. I believe I wouldn't need many apps and whichever ones I need, I'll find them in BB. I'll be reading, texting, surfing the net and using You-tube a lot. Also, I'll be checking mails and seldom using social networking. I don't care much for the camera but I'll be listening to music a lot. I read that the new OS updates improve the battery life which is a massive prerequisite for me because I am out most of the day.