02-28-14 08:26 AM
41 12
tools
  1. raymond's Avatar
    OMFG!!!

    In Dec, I used 11 gig and in Jan I used 8!!!

    Holy "thank God for my grandfathered unlimited data package" otherwise I'd would never use the phone or I'd be broke!!!!

    Anybody else use this much data??

    Stop, drop, and roll.
    02-25-14 02:14 PM
  2. adjdudley21's Avatar
    5 gigs.. however i have a android that i use for all the high powered data usage…
    02-25-14 02:23 PM
  3. diegonei's Avatar
    We were all advised BB10 devices used data like any other phone... You not being able to put yours down thus eating up huge chuncks of data is just testmant to how good it is.

    Back on the 9780 I used to be at around 350mb/month. Z10? Doing my best not to go over my 2GB allowance.
    raymond likes this.
    02-25-14 02:25 PM
  4. crackbb10's Avatar
    I think I double or triple that every month but only on WIFI! Monthly data allowance is 2GB of which I use about 1GB, sometimes a little more.
    raymond and gurasanders like this.
    02-25-14 02:27 PM
  5. CDM76's Avatar
    I use less than 1 gb monthly. Everywhere I go has wifi it seems.

    Posted via CB10
    02-25-14 02:29 PM
  6. UnlimitedEra's Avatar
    I used 1.3GB out of 5
    I spend 250 to 300 MBS a day

    Posted Via CB10 Running On Z10STL100-2 Using OS Version 10.2.1.2141
    02-25-14 02:30 PM
  7. NtotheK's Avatar
    I use less than 1 gb monthly. Everywhere I go has wifi it seems.

    Posted via CB10
    Yup same here. Rarely go over 1GB


    Posted via CB10
    02-25-14 02:30 PM
  8. FF22's Avatar
    OMFG!!!

    In Dec, I used 11 gig and in Jan I used 8!!!

    Holy "thank God for my grandfathered unlimited data package" otherwise I'd would never use the phone or I'd be broke!!!!

    Anybody else use this much data??

    Stop, drop, and roll.
    Are you using it more? Visiting lots of sites or download/uploading tons of data.

    You can get an idea of what apps are running by using the Device Monitor.
    raymond likes this.
    02-25-14 02:49 PM
  9. KDB84's Avatar
    Do you have Box or Dropbox setup on your phone? Are they constantly syncing to the cloud? This uses a LOT of data when not on wi-fi, not to mention battery.
    thurman likes this.
    02-25-14 03:48 PM
  10. raymond's Avatar
    Some podcasts. I might be over the 11 this month because now I have hbogo and netflix.

    I don't have Dropbox or anything cloud based. I'm on the phone a lot and almost never in wifi.

    It's still a ton of data, though.

    Stop, drop, and roll.
    02-25-14 06:33 PM
  11. mcmanninc's Avatar
    I remember reading a review for the Z30 running 10.2 which said that the phone registered a WiFi link, but was still using the data stream. I believe they had to manually select their WiFi account to correct the issue. Could this be a 10.2 problem, not a Z30 bug? More to the point, could this be what happened to you? Anyone else run in to this?
    02-25-14 08:49 PM
  12. mcmanninc's Avatar
    Just read the whole string. So this doesn't apply to you. Still, anyone else had this issue.
    02-25-14 08:52 PM
  13. flacrack's Avatar
    I saw the same thing in my 2 months on the Z10. I'm going over all the apps to see what uses a network connection that I'm not aware of. Lots of apps share with BBM, though I rarely use it. Dropbox and Box are set to only sync via wifi. I did update via an autoloader in January and via Sachesi in February. Now, I'm watching it pretty closely to see what does and doesn't use the LTE network. My Maps or Google Maps use about 1 MB per half hour trip. My wifi and LTE are always on. I domost of my use in wifi areas, the exception being in the car I use the gps. I did add MyCar connection but the data transfer of email and texts should have been via BT. I did this in February. Ideas are welcome!! From my att account:
    DATA Usage!!!!-usage2.jpg
    02-25-14 09:22 PM
  14. nucks26's Avatar
    OMFG!!!

    In Dec, I used 11 gig and in Jan I used 8!!!

    Holy "thank God for my grandfathered unlimited data package" otherwise I'd would never use the phone or I'd be broke!!!!

    Anybody else use this much data??

    Stop, drop, and roll.
    I've gone over like crazy. Called my carrier and they told me BB10 uses more than normal data

    Posted via CB10 for Z10
    02-26-14 12:48 AM
  15. BlackberryNerd's Avatar
    I have a allowance of 6GB of Data a monyh on a grandfathered Virgin Mobile Canada plan. Most months I use on average around 4GB. This particular month I have used over 6GB and counting.

    I still love the Blackberry experience though!

    Posted via CB10
    02-26-14 12:53 AM
  16. CDM76's Avatar
    I've gone over like crazy. Called my carrier and they told me BB10 uses more than normal data

    Posted via CB10 for Z10
    Tell them that's bs. It uses same data as every other phone manufacturer. It just uses more than BB07 as was compressed then.


    Posted via CB10
    02-26-14 01:15 AM
  17. tushargkwd's Avatar
    Tell them that's bs. It uses same data as every other phone manufacturer. It just uses more than BB07 as was compressed then.


    Posted via CB10
    True.
    The only thing is that via BES the data was compressed... hence the low data usage.
    I use less than 1GB... half of the time I used 3G ...


    Posted via CB10
    02-26-14 05:07 AM
  18. Mustafa Bepari's Avatar
    4gigs in 3 days... I know it sounds unbelievable, but aside from watching videos on YouTube (not even hd), some Skype video calls and updating to 10.2.1, I did nothing special. I'm writing letters to the lost data bits to find out their whereabouts.

    Posted via CB10
    raymond likes this.
    02-26-14 06:31 AM
  19. stabstabdie's Avatar
    I used 26 gig the other month. Never less than 4.
    raymond likes this.
    02-26-14 06:36 AM
  20. flacrack's Avatar
    from my post # 13 above:
    I didn't voluntarily use the LTE data at all yesterday, but I did see Dropbox, Box, Facebook and BBM all used some data, ranging from 1kb to 500kb. I used BaSA, the BB app to follow the data use of the day and it was 1.56MB IN and 0.6mb OUT for a total of 2.16MB, which is less than my norm. Today, I'm going to monitor again while only using gps on the LTE (driving) and no other usage that I am aware of. You might try the paid BaSA app. It's only 1.99 and gives some good info. So far today 110 kb.

    Anyone else like to post data?
    02-26-14 01:59 PM
  21. Thud Hardsmack's Avatar
    I've gone over like crazy. Called my carrier and they told me BB10 uses more than normal data

    Posted via CB10 for Z10
    Some days I really wonder about these customer service reps and their QA departments.
    CDM76 likes this.
    02-26-14 02:08 PM
  22. geekl33tgamer's Avatar
    Just read the whole string. So this doesn't apply to you. Still, anyone else had this issue.
    Only once, the problem was to do with a wireless AP that required Log-In / accept user terms. For some reason, this particular AP I frequent at a well known coffee house doesn't prompt you to log in like others always do.

    The result is, you see WIFI is connected, but no idea it's not logged in. Data goes over cell instead.

    Just keep an eye on things? I use about 4-6 GB monthly over LTE, and a touch more on WIFI again...

    Awesome BB Z10. Be Social: 2B80D5C2
    02-26-14 02:18 PM
  23. Thud Hardsmack's Avatar
    OMFG!!!

    In Dec, I used 11 gig and in Jan I used 8!!!

    Holy "thank God for my grandfathered unlimited data package" otherwise I'd would never use the phone or I'd be broke!!!!

    Anybody else use this much data??

    Stop, drop, and roll.
    I was averaging about 300MB per month with my 9930, up from about 165MB on my 9550, which was a shock coming from my 8130. All this on an unlimited data plan, and then I bring a Z10 into the picture. First month's usage: 1.7GB, and now it's metered.

    Not doing too bad nowadays - 853MB used, capped at 3GB; 12 days to rollover.
    raymond likes this.
    02-26-14 02:24 PM
  24. Richard Buckley's Avatar
    This is pretty typical of what my usage is.


    DATA Usage!!!!-img_20140226_170047.png

    Posted via CB10
    02-26-14 04:01 PM
  25. stabstabdie's Avatar
    Only once, the problem was to do with a wireless AP that required Log-In / accept user terms. For some reason, this particular AP I frequent at a well known coffee house doesn't prompt you to log in like others always do.

    The result is, you see WIFI is connected, but no idea it's not logged in. Data goes over cell instead.

    Just keep an eye on things? I use about 4-6 GB monthly over LTE, and a touch more on WIFI again...

    Awesome BB Z10. Be Social: 2B80D5C2
    When that happens, doesn't the wifi icon at the top just appear grey??
    It's been a while since I have been in a hotspot like that so I don't 100% remember, but I think it does.
    02-26-14 04:08 PM
41 12

Similar Threads

  1. Data Usage Counter not working
    By Francois1988 in forum BlackBerry 10 Apps
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-26-14, 02:46 AM
  2. Bbm Battery Usage ?
    By sickyute in forum General BBM Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-25-14, 07:25 PM
  3. Bbm and Battery Usage
    By sickyute in forum General BlackBerry News, Discussion & Rumors
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-25-14, 02:56 PM
  4. How to clear data/cache?
    By Heland Arcolas in forum Site and App Feedback & Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-25-14, 01:06 PM
  5. Very slow data - Z10 or O2 UK issue?
    By geekl33tgamer in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-24-14, 05:41 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD