1. melissatafa's Avatar
    So I use my internet on my phone at home on my WIFI, and it works just fine, but when I turn it off or leave my house I can't do ANYTHING on my phone except make calls and sms texts. No internet browser use, bbm, mms, maps, apps, nothing!

    I've even had to ask my friends who are iPhone users to check things on the Internet for me when we're out - and you can just imagine how sickening THAT feels! Lol :-D

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks!
    Melissa

    Posted via CB10
    02-01-14 11:40 PM
  2. officially_juju's Avatar
    I had this problem before and it was quickly solved by updating the PRL and refreshing the network by contacting my phone provider. Hope it helps

    Posted via CB10
    02-01-14 11:44 PM
  3. hakimmmmm's Avatar
    Try buyinf 3g or 4g data from your carrier

    That was answer to your question

    What I mean is what is the real problem? Why cant you use? Is it becouse 3g is not connecting or you get some sort of error?

    Posted via CB10
    02-01-14 11:45 PM
  4. johnnyuk's Avatar
    Sounds like either you don't have a data plan on your phone's sim card or it's not working properly.

    Call or visit your mobile network carrier and get them to check that out for you.

    Did you buy the phone from a major carrier? Or a reseller? Or unlocked and off contract (sim free)?

    Posted via CB10 on Z30 STA100-2 / 10.2.1.1925 on O2 UK - Activated on BES10.2
    02-01-14 11:45 PM
  5. BergerKing's Avatar
    Melissa, which device and carrier are you using? This will help give members an idea of where to look at the problem.

    Assuming you have a full data plan, I would look to see in the network settings that your mobile data is turned off. But not knowing the device, I can't tell you where to look for that setting. Definitely wanna help get this situation solved, though.
    jojo beaconsfield likes this.
    02-01-14 11:46 PM
  6. cdnynot's Avatar
    Hi Melissa,
    Check that you have the APN correct under the settings.
    Settings > Network and Connections > ensure that the Data Network is enabled
    On the bottom of the screen, you'll see the APN - make sure that your service carrier put in their information as the BlackBerry needs this information to receive the data.

    Post via my ? Z10!
    02-01-14 11:50 PM
  7. PineappleOranges's Avatar
    I had this problem earlier on my AT&T Z10, using 10.2.1.1055 leak. I had noticed when I went to connections, it said my SIM card wasn't compatible. Later, I tried using my browser and had no connection.

    My Solution: I turned my Z10 off, pulled the battery and SIM card; then I reinserted the battery and SIM card.

    After that, my phone booted up, and the problem (whatever it was) was solved.
    Last edited by PineappleOranges; 02-01-14 at 11:54 PM. Reason: Spelling Mistakes
    jojo beaconsfield likes this.
    02-01-14 11:50 PM
  8. johnnyuk's Avatar
    Also check your Mobile Network and Data Services are both switched on.

    Assuming it's a BlackBerry 10 phone, swipe down from the top from the Home screen and tap Settings. Tap Network and Connections. Tap Mobile Network then ensure both Mobile Network and Data Services are turned on with blue dots visible.

    Also make sure Network Mode is set to 4G & 3G & 2G and that Network Selection Mode is set to Automatic.

    Posted via CB10 on Z30 STA100-2 / 10.2.1.1925 on O2 UK - Activated on BES10.2
    jojo beaconsfield likes this.
    02-01-14 11:52 PM
  9. melissatafa's Avatar
    Please could you clarify how to update the PRL?

    The network provider is o2, I bought my Z10 directly from them, which includes a 1GB data plan, and mobile data isn't turned off. When I am outside of the house, it says 'Error Connecting. Try Again?' or something similar to that.

    I have had a BlackBerry since 2002, so I'm no newbie, but this has me stumped! :-D



    Posted via CB10
    02-01-14 11:59 PM
  10. melissatafa's Avatar
    I will try pulling the battery and SIM to see if that works now :-)

    Posted via CB10
    02-02-14 12:01 AM
  11. johnnyuk's Avatar
    As cdnynot says above also check you have setting for the APN in Settings / Network and Connections / Mobile Network

    I'm on O2 as well on my unlocked Z30 and the settings were picked up automatically after I put the Sim in and powered up but maybe yours weren't.

    Posted via CB10 on Z30 STA100-2 / 10.2.1.1925 on O2 UK - Activated on BES10.2
    02-02-14 12:29 AM
  12. uzmarvel's Avatar
    I had the same problem, Z30 was not automatically switching to cellular data plan when after I leave my wifi zone. Toggling mobile cell radio was solving it. Just put cell radio to quick settings, whenever you need just switch it off and on, you will get data connection.
    02-02-14 01:59 AM
  13. anischab's Avatar
    Settings>Radios (where your Provider is listed): Here 2 screen shots from my Q:


    Can't use Internet when I leave my house?-img_20140202_090527.png


    Can't use Internet when I leave my house?-img_20140202_090432.png

    Turn Data-connection to "on"...
    Sometimes it goes off if you use Airplane mode but reactivate the radio when wanna make a call, so data stay off.


    Posted via my BlackBerry*Q10, Germany - Running OS 10.2.1.537
    02-02-14 02:07 AM
  14. laufantasy's Avatar
    Reason :
    In the top right corner, there is a blackberry logo next to the signal bar, if U can't see that logo, U can't access to the Internet service,

    How to solve :
    Do nothing, take a few minutes it will find the service by itself,
    or turn off your mobile network then turn it back on

    Can't use Internet when I leave my house?-img_20140202_173252.png

    Posted via CB10
    02-02-14 03:44 AM
  15. afl777's Avatar
    Definitely sounds like signal. I'm with Tesco that run off O2 masts...and O2 have been rolling out 4g, dropping masts and powering them down somewhat to do the 4g work in them. Late last year I had to go into hospital overnight, and found that where previously my Curve in the same network would get FB, Twitter, and the radio would work, only calls texts and BBM....albeit slow....worked. Actually, far from doing my usual sale pitch my Z10 stayed in my bag as I was the only one in the ward that couldn't use their phone....

    But I digress.....signal definitely. Mine isn't too bad now when I'm out

    Posted via CB10
    02-02-14 05:58 AM
  16. melissatafa's Avatar
    Thanks everyone. Nothing has worked thus far - but I'm going to head to an o2 store now. Hopefully they can shed some light.

    Posted via CB10
    02-02-14 06:09 AM
  17. anischab's Avatar
    Thanks everyone. Nothing has worked thus far - but I'm going to head to an o2 store now. Hopefully they can shed some light.

    Posted via CB10
    Please report back ;-) Do not let'em say, because it's a BlackBerry, look, here a toy that works... Be strong! (not saying be Bold :-D)
    Good luck with them!

    Posted via my BlackBerry*Q10, Germany - Running OS 10.2.1.537
    02-02-14 06:15 AM
  18. aquaboi924's Avatar
    I'm having this issue as well sometimes when I leave the house (on wifi) then no BB logo when it connects to my network. I can still make calls and text but no Internet. Solution was to turn off the network radio then turn it back on. It's just one of those quirks I have to live with I guess.

    Posted via CB10
    02-02-14 09:13 AM
  19. coolj40041's Avatar
    You can also re-register your phone with the network. Go to Settings- About, switch Category to Network, then click on the 3 dots in lower right corner of screen and click on Register BlackBerry.

    Posted via CB10
    02-02-14 10:19 AM
  20. coolj40041's Avatar
    If the pull the sim card trick doesn?t work

    Posted via CB10
    02-02-14 10:20 AM

Similar Threads

  1. Verizon 10.2.1 for the Q10 When?
    By rambo47 in forum BlackBerry Q10
    Replies: 225
    Last Post: 03-18-14, 04:16 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-09-14, 08:56 PM
  3. Replies: 50
    Last Post: 02-07-14, 10:09 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-02-14, 01:50 PM
  5. Need help for my Q10 presentation
    By sinister shadow in forum BlackBerry Q10
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-02-14, 09:25 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD