Hey guys,

I noticed a lot of people posting advice on various threads to let your battery drain completely for a few cycles to maximize battery life. I've done some light research in the past, and I'm no electrical expert, but I believe the consensus is that this is actually very bad for lithium ion batteries. However, it seems letting it run down around once a month is okay, to calibrate the power gauge.

Here are a few sources:

"One of the worst things you can do to a Li-ion battery is to run it out completely all the time. Full discharges put a lot of strain on the battery, and it's much better practice to do shallow discharges to no lower than 20 percent."
    Avoid Frequent Discharges to Extend Your Phone or Laptop's Battery Life

"Similar to a mechanical device that wears out faster with heavy use, so also does the depth of discharge (DoD) determine the cycle count. The shorter the discharge (low DoD), the longer the battery will last. If at all possible, avoid full discharges and charge the battery more often between uses."
    How to Prolong Lithium-based Batteries - Battery University

"Unlike NiCad batteries, lithium-ion batteries do not have a charge memory. That means deep-discharge cycles are not required. In fact, it�s better for the battery to use partial-discharge cycles. [...] If a lithium-ion battery is discharged below 2.5 volts per cell, a safety circuit built into the battery opens and the battery appears to be dead. The original charger will be of no use. Only battery analyzers with the boost function have a chance of recharging the battery."
    Five tips for extending lithium-ion battery life | TechRepublic

"Repeatedly discharging the battery to zero doesn�t help a lithium-ion; in fact, it will probably shorten its overall life and capacity."
    Ask a Geek: Should I Fully Drain My Laptop Battery Before Recharging It? | Popular Science

Hope this helps
    03-24-13 11:13 PM
    Yes, it's amazing how many people pass bad information around.