1. team_blackberry13's Avatar
    Hi All.

    I have a friend who just recently purchased the Z10 device.

    He previously used a Blackberry and was using BB protect. With the new Z10 he can not seem to get Blackberry protect working on the device. BB protect does not recognize the device when plugged into his laptop.

    I advised for him to go into app and setup and register the phone under the BB ID but still no luck??

    Can someone help on this one
    04-23-13 01:03 AM
  2. ssbtech's Avatar
    BB protect does not recognize the device when plugged into his laptop.
    The laptop shouldn't have anything to do with it. Just make sure the account info is set up in the phone's settings -> BlackBerry Protect.

    Then log into the BB Protect account online to verify it's functioning.
    04-23-13 01:24 AM
  3. team_blackberry13's Avatar
    ok what he is saying is if he goes onto the BB protect sight he can not view the Z10 ? he has BB ID via BB protect default loaded onto the Z10.

    he has activated location services on the Z10 yet when he accesses BB protect it is not recognized on the website.

    I am also very confused by the question and how it all works.
    04-23-13 01:37 AM
  4. ssbtech's Avatar
    Hmm.. I seem to recall running into something similar when I got my Z10. I can't remember how I fixed it.
    04-23-13 01:53 AM
  5. team_blackberry13's Avatar
    ok if anyone has an answer to this would be greatly appreciated.
    04-25-13 08:41 PM
  6. sooman54's Avatar
    Is Blackberry Protect turned on in Settings>Blackberry Protect ?
    04-25-13 09:02 PM
  7. team_blackberry13's Avatar
    yes it is - its just he is unable to view it when he is online on the computer. the device will not appear in bb protect online.??
    04-26-13 12:38 AM
  8. russworman's Avatar
    I would double check location settings and make sure that they are on

    Posted via CB10
    04-26-13 12:42 AM
  9. wentouch's Avatar
    BB ID and Protect are baked into the OS, or already loaded onto the phone. Owner needs to 1) create a BB ID account using BB ID option found in Settings, and 2) register the Z10 device and owner info into the Protect service, from a computer, at the BB Protect website.
    lui22 likes this.
    04-26-13 12:48 AM
  10. lui22's Avatar
    ime worked OTB its a little slow for my taste it took 5 minutes for the sound to play round 18 for the phone to lock and 6 for a message to display
    04-26-13 01:02 AM
  11. team_blackberry13's Avatar
    Tried all that still no luck!
    04-26-13 01:10 AM
  12. Supa_Fly1's Avatar
    Tried all that still no luck!
    You've confirmed with your friend showing you he's logged into BB Protect on the PC/Mac and confirmed all information is registered to HIM?

    Please complete your full profile
    The more we know about you the more useful this site will be for you.
    Curious if he's looking at the wrong device on the site ... under My Devices?
    04-26-13 01:37 AM
  13. wentouch's Avatar
    Is the phone a business phone, connected to an enterprise server? If so, Protect can only be activated from the co admin.

    Home Troubleshooting My device does not appear in my BlackBerry Protect account
    My device does not appear in my BlackBerry Protect account
    Your BlackBerry device might be associated with a BlackBerry Enterprise Server. To learn about how your device can be protected against loss or theft, contact your administrator.
    John Pawling likes this.
    04-26-13 01:41 AM

Similar Threads

  1. BlackBerry Protect on BIS?
    By starscollide in forum BlackBerry OS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-10-12, 12:01 AM
  2. Blackberry Protect on the P'9981
    By CGORO2 in forum BlackBerry P'9981
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-12, 12:41 AM
  3. Blackberry protect on a 9900...SWEET!
    By offthahorseceo in forum BlackBerry Bold Series
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-01-12, 11:54 AM
  4. Blackberry Protect on Curve 9350
    By prenger745 in forum BlackBerry Curve Series
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-23-11, 04:41 PM
  5. BlackBerry protect on ex-BES connected 9700.
    By bestera in forum BlackBerry OS Apps
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-15-11, 11:09 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD