Hello,

I've purchased a secondhand verizon 8830 that was supposed to be unlocked. I place my AT&T sim card in the phone to check that it is indeed unlocked. When I did this it said Active under Network so I'm assuming that it is indeed not unlocked as advertised. So I assume I will need to purchase an unlock code?

Second, I am a student who will be studying abroad in Paris. I plan on using a monthly sim pay as you go on the Orange network while there. Will I have any problems with this blackberry on that type of plan?

First blackberry, and disappointed on the false advertisement of unlocked - but that's what you get secondhand.

Thanks in advance
    01-16-10 12:12 AM
    Sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with your first Blackberry.

I'll try to explain your question as best I can.

#1. Regardless if the Verizon 8830 is locked or unlocked, it will never work on AT&T. The Verizon 8830 is a dual-band phone which will only work on most European and Asian GSM networks. It will not work with any of the North American GSM carriers such as AT&T, T-mobile, Rogers and/or Fido.

#2. Since you are studying in Paris (Europe), you should have absolutely no problems after you unlock your phone. If you go to options --> advanced options --> SIM card --> type MEPD, you will see a few different columns come up. If it says "Active" beside Network, then your phone is indeed locked. If that is the case, you will have to purchase an unlock code. If it says "disabled" or "inactive", it is unlocked. You may be missing a step of going to manage connections --> mobile network options --> change your Network Technology to GSM/UMTS (at least for the newer CDMA/GSM Blackberries like the 9530, 9550, 9630).