Hi all, newbie here - tried searching for this topic but have not found anything like it.

I recently got the 8830, got it unlocked by Verizon and headed off to Russia with a Russian SIM card in it....works fine as a phone, and it says that it sees the gprs, but I cannot actually access the internet. I know that GPRS works because I have used this SIM card for several years in various phones and have always had GPRS access.

Anyone know if there is a way on the Verizon 8830 to change the GPRS settings (APN, login, password, etc)?

One additional note: sometimes the phone shows "gprs" and sometimes it shows "GPRS" but not Internet access either way. When I run the diagnostic program, it does say that data services are enabled.

This is my last hope with this phone...if I can't get it set up I'm going to have to return it - and that will be too bad because I really like it and there's no blackberry service available here in Russia....
    08-18-07 05:18 AM
    So, now the Internet browser icon has disappeared from the menu as well and when I try to open a shortcut I have, it says I don't have the service books I need...am I totally out of luck, or is there some solution here?
    08-18-07 11:17 AM
    OK, well, with 82 views people are reading but not responding...so the latest update is GPRS has mysteriously (?) started working after I wiped the device (but not immediately after)...but now all the service books and host routing tables are gone. So the web browser and google talk don't work, but the gmail app, google maps and IM+ do....
    08-19-07 06:30 AM
    Its probably because people are trying to find the solution for this problem... Atleast thats my reasoning. Your problem is quite unique because I have never heard of anyone having this problem and the phone is a new device as well so there are going to be bugs to be worked out.
    08-19-07 06:39 AM
    OK! Hope so!