Good afternoon all. As I am sitting here waiting for the David Ortiz press conference I am debating weather or not to unlock my bb bold. I am new to bb coming from an iphone and am wondering what the advantages to an unlocked bb are. So I ask for your opinions.

Thanks,

Rob
    08-08-09 11:18 AM
    Portability from one vendor to another. If you travel abroad, you can pick up a local, pre-paid SIM for less expensive local calling.

It's a constant with me: When I buy a phone from my carrier, first stop is to get it unlocked.

The other reason to unlock it: Increases resale value if you switch phones quite often.
    08-08-09 11:26 AM
    Where can I get the unlock codes and are they free. Should I also follow the tutorial I saw on youtube?

Thanks for the help!
    08-08-09 11:28 AM
    You can contact your carrier - assuming that you bought your phone through your wireless provider - and tell them that you will be traveling to another continent and need to be able to use a local SIM. That may work, depending on your carrier's policy and your history with your carrier.

You may also "buy" a code from an unlocking service: this is the path that I took with my Bold. It was $15.00 and I had the code within 24 hours - and it worked flawlessly.

So a search on CrackBerry for suppliers who will perform this service. I used:
    Blackberry instant remote unlocking server by bb-server.eu all blackberry series unlocking
    for my Bold un-locking.

Good luck.
    08-08-09 11:32 AM
    I also purchased a code, because AT&T wouldn't give me one.

I used cellunlock.net and they even have a coupon for 50% off for crackberry members! crackb50

I'm the same as you I have both the iPhone and my Bold. I unlocked the bold for travel purposes and when I decide to sell it in the future.
    08-08-09 11:50 AM
    BB is unlocked. I called AT&T and they gave me the code with no questions asked. I followed a video found on youtube and now have an unlocked bb. Now what??