hello, i am new to blackberry phones

I bought a blackberry curve 8900 and my SIM card is working fine...
    But i wanted to know if the phone was originally unlocked or it was illegally unlocked. Here in my country a lot of blackberries r being unlocked just by sending to any cell phones shop and in u get it back unlocked for 70$

I want to update the firmware of the phone and i am affraid if than will lock my phone and i will need to unlock it again?

I hope i was able to explain myself correctly, any help is really appreciated
    11-19-09 11:59 AM
    hello, i am new to blackberry phones

I bought a blackberry curve 8900 and my SIM card is working fine...
    But i wanted to know if the phone was originally unlocked or it was illegally unlocked. Here in my country a lot of blackberries r being unlocked just by sending to any cell phones shop and in u get it back unlocked for 70$

I want to update the firmware of the phone and i am affraid if than will lock my phone and i will need to unlock it again?

I hope i was able to explain myself correctly, any help is really appreciated
    Hi. Welcome to Crackberry.

If someone pays to unlock a phone, it will not be relocked by updating the OS.
    11-19-09 12:15 PM
    unfortunately i was not able to know how the phone was unlocked
    but there is no dealer or representer for blackberry in my country

so the shop is being paid without really knowing how the phone is unlocked

i dunno if that helps, but on the back of the phone it is written vodafone
    and there was a brochure in the box where it was written the vodafone.de web site

i checked the web site and contacted the customer support and after many emails they asked for my pin and told me that it is not registered in their database
    11-19-09 12:28 PM