I am new to the world of unlocked phones and thought it would be nice to post my step-by-step journey to activating my first unlocked BB on Fido in hopes that the next newbie can read it and feel more at ease while attempting to hook up their first unlocked BB.

First let me start with my costs. I wanted to replace my iPhone 3GS with a Blackberry and I am in love with Fidos 2000 minute city plan, 500 MB data plan and VM/call display add on which comes to a total of around $90/month after tax.

The cost really wasnt much. I basically got back what I paid for the unlocked Blackberry Curve when I sold my iPhone on ebay. The Blackberry cost me $375 all in and I sold the iPhone for $360.

FYI: The Fido plan when switching from iPhone to Blackberry does not cost a penny more. You need to make changes, but they cost the same, Ill explain the plan changes you need to make in a bit.

Here are the steps you need to take to switch from your iPhone (or other mobile phone) to an unlocked Blackberry on Fido.

1. Buy the unlocked Blackberry.

This phone needs to operate of a SIM card. Any phone that works on a GSM network will work.

You need to make sure it is unlocked, or need to unlock it yourself.

How to see if your BB is unlocked (You may need to do this after step 2, Im not sure):

-> On your Blackberry, go to Options Advanced Options SIM Card and then type mepdwithout the of course. Everything should say Disabled. If network says active then your phone is still locked. This is an easy fix, just get it unlocked.

2.Insert the SIM card.

Once you do this your phone should work, but that is all. I made the mistake of trying to see if the data would work at this point and wasted a good half hour trying to figure out why only the phone works but the data does not. DATA WILL NOT WORK AT THIS POINT. ONLY THE PHONE WILL WORK!!