hi, i am new to the forums and have been a long time iphone user. i am on att and know a decent amount on unlocking phones and service providers. because att chargers the 30 dollar bis plan for any blackberry on their service, i decided to buy an unlocked 9700 so that the serial numbers and imei would come up as unregistered in the att network, making att unable to force me into a plan. i have the $10 data plan on att. i have seen online that the bb browser, bbm, and other apps that require bis will not work. i was wondering if there were any problems with other apps or the app market that are similar to this, and if there are any work arounds them. i am assuming that as long as i change the network settings to att's, the data will work fine. if you have any help or information relevant to this that i might need to know, please enlighten me .

and ps, im sorry if there are threads similar to this. i have looked but because i am new to the bb world a lot of it is confusing to me to piece together from different threads. thanks!
    Last edited by pcpshortbus; 01-10-10 at 02:48 PM.
    01-10-10 02:46 PM
    plain and time simple... nothing will work, you need a bb data plan... every packet of data the BB sends needs to go threw the BB servers... i have seen people being able to use generic plans and such, but its 50/50 that it will work... why not just spend the extra $20 and save the headache of trying to get things to work and just get the BB data?

there might be a way to get a BB to work with a generic data plan, but i dont know how... if someone does i'm sure they will post how... but i honestly think you should just opt for the BB data plan and save the headache good luck in your endeavor
    01-10-10 03:59 PM
    thanks, but spending that extra money each month is just too much for me. i have wifi almost everywhere i am during the day, so i dont feel it is really necessary to pay the extra money.
    01-10-10 04:04 PM