08-07-12 10:23 PM
76 1234
tools
    Just a little correction...not any GSM provider, for example the 8220 will not work with Bell/Telus because they only have a 3G HSPA Network and the phone is not 3G compatible. Same way a T-Mobile 9700 will not work on Bell/Telus although the phone is 3G compatible, it's not compatible with the 3G frequency they use, and these carriers don't have 2G Networks.
    Nice information cellunlocknet, appreciated!
    02-12-11 07:31 AM
    Nice information cellunlocknet, appreciated!
    You're welcome!
    02-12-11 09:50 AM
    im very new to fones. whats the advantage of unlocking your blackberry flip? could i browse the web without being asked to pay for it, in wi-fi areas?
    can jump back and forth between gsm networks. raises the re-seller value of your phone. not tied down to one network, so if someone raises their rates you can go somewhere else. to name a few.
    02-13-11 03:08 PM
    ah. i see..... thanks. this blackberry flip is my first smart phone. i guess i've been stuck with a stupid phone. doesn't feel that different, guess i need something like a iphone or the torch.

Once a blackberry is unlocked you'll be able to use it on any gsm carrier worldwide. As for data, you'll need to pay for that with any carrier. If your phone has wifi then you can connect to available wifi networks.
    my flip can't do that. i connect all the time in wi-fi area and it still keep asking me to pay for data transfer. do i have to unlock it?
    02-19-11 12:56 AM
    When you unlock a phone you are able to use a gsm carrier of your choice. Once the phone is unlocked you'll be able to use the features available on the phone.

When you connect to a wifi network you have to do the following:

Go to Manage Connections
    Turn On Wifi
    Then Go to Wifi Options
    Then Click the Blackberry Menu Button and click on New
    After that click on Scan for Networks
    Choose the network that you have available