One of my friends has a blackberry curve from AT&T and she recently told them she wants to get rid of the $30 charge for megabyte usage. i have the blackberry tour and i was courious of a blackberry can work without it. i hear you HAVE TO HAVE IT in order for the phone to work. would the SMS and dialing work. All the other stuff wouldnt work. i knoww this is a stupid question buit just curious. I am a newbie with blackberrys but i am loving it though.
    12-07-09 09:23 PM
    VZW requires the data plan. no plan no BB
    12-07-09 09:25 PM
    Blackberries do work without data plans, but having one without data defeats the purpose of a blackberry. Unfortunately all carriers make it mandatory to have a data plan with "smartphones"(this includes BB) so you can't drop your data plan. Personally I don't agree with that but that is the way it is right now.
    12-07-09 09:28 PM
    i dont plan on getting rid of mine. just wanting to know. thanks
    12-07-09 09:34 PM
    You would probably be better off with getting a regular phone since its almost impossible to be without a data plan on verizon.
    12-08-09 01:52 AM
    I thought it wwas mandatory for all bb but my friend on at&t doesn't have the. $30 charge either. I asked him what was point of having a bb lol

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    12-08-09 08:24 AM
    Somw carriers have switched to requiring data plan, customers without are usually grandfathered,
    12-08-09 08:27 AM
    Somw carriers have switched to requiring data plan, customers without are usually grandfathered,
    Correct, but I also think any plan adjustments or device upgrades cause this to go into effect.
    12-08-09 08:45 AM
    Correct, but I also think any plan adjustments or device upgrades cause this to go into effect.
    I would venture to guess this is also correct.
    12-08-09 08:48 AM
    I would venture to guess this is also correct.