I'm new to BBs, and think I want a Tour when it comes out. But I was playing
    around with a Bold, an 8900 and a Storm at the stores recently, and I was very
    underwhelmed by the speed of the web browsing. At the T-Mobile store I
    finally just gave up on the 8900 it was so slow. It was a toss-up between the
    Bold (at&t) and Storm (vzw) for speed but still not real impressive.
    Is it likely that I just got a typical in-store experience or are these things really
    that much slower than internet on a computer? (I don't expect cable internet
    speeds but I thought it would be faster)
    05-08-09 04:01 PM
    Expecting anything near computer quickness is unrealistic. Phones using Wi-Fi will be the fastest and then come the 3G phones like the Storm. The internet browser is meant to be a convenience but not your #1 option for web browsing by any means.
    05-08-09 04:30 PM
    I too was shocked by the speed of some of today's leading smartphones and BBs. For having over 600mhz in the Bold, and a near 3.6mbps (I may be off a bit) connection. However I think the actual speed may be in the kb numbers.

I know a BB shouldn't replace a laptop, but I expected a little speed boost with a processor at almost twice the speed.
    05-08-09 04:49 PM
    I too was shocked by the speed of some of today's leading smartphones and BBs. For having over 600mhz in the Bold, and a near 3.6mbps (I may be off a bit) connection. However I think the actual speed may be in the kb numbers.

I know a BB shouldn't replace a laptop, but I expected a little speed boost with a processor at almost twice the speed.
    What browser? Some tend to be faster than others.
    05-08-09 04:56 PM
    What browser? Some tend to be faster than others.