I'm a college student and will be going abroad in China from September to December. I've heard about being able to purchase a local SIM card to put in my phone, and also that Verizon has an international data plan that I could also use. Which would be easiest/most convenient for my situation? Thanks for the help!
    03-15-10 02:02 PM
    I've been to Korea and Germany with my Tour.

Get the international Data Plan for only the days your going to be there.
    Get a local calling card for voice calls.
    03-15-10 02:13 PM
    I've been to Korea and Germany with my Tour.

Get the international Data Plan for only the days your going to be there.
    Get a local calling card for voice calls.
    +1

I'm doing the same thing. This worked splendidly in Costa Rica last year (albeit EDGE instead of 3G).

Correct me if I'm wrong, but with Verizon you need the $64.99 or $69.99 plan (they accidentally switched me to the BES data plan [$49.99] instead of the unlimited international plan). A call to customer service fixed it, but I don't want to go through that again.
    03-15-10 02:21 PM
    FYI for Verizon -- GlobalEmail
    03-15-10 02:23 PM
    FYI for Verizon -- GlobalEmail
    Yea 69$ plan. I usually call ahead to global support and give them the dates of when and what country I'll be and go from there. Haven't had any issues yet.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    03-15-10 02:40 PM
    if your phone is unlocked, you can just buy a China Mobile prepaid SIM for phone/sms, but i don't know about its data options. if you really must have data while you're there, then you'll have to talk to Verizon about roaming, I believe it's an extra ~$30 per month for international data (data only).
    03-15-10 03:01 PM