Hey there,

Right now, I am on Sprint and using unlimited data plan only, no voice because I am deaf. I am planning to go to UK this summer 2010 and I would like to use data plan in UK. Does they offer pre-paid sim card for data plan only or should I get World Wide data only plan from Sprint and pay 70 dollars??? And I am fairly new to this, never brought oversea and would not like to get over charge bill, haha

Thanks if you can help me out!
    Sam
    12-21-09 10:08 PM
    If the Sprint plan for travel is like the Verizon Global Plan, you pay about $69 per month but stop paying the normal rate of $30 month. So it costs and extra $40 for use in Europe.

I have read but don't know - that using local sim cards can sometimes NOT include a data plan. So you really need to check out Sprint's offering and then make sure you can find a sim card with data for Scotland.

Enjoy the trip.
    12-22-09 12:07 AM
    I am currently using my Sprint Tour in Oxford, England. Sprint's international unlimited data plan costs me $40 per month. I am not quite sure where you got the $70 figure from. I don't believe that it is actually possible to buy a SIM card for data only. I bought a T-Mobile SIM card here in Oxford, and it is almost useless for data. Therefore, I rely exclusively on Sprint for my data needs, and exclusively on the T-Mobile SIM card for my voice calls.

In a nutshell, be sure to activate Sprint International prior to your departure. It should only cost you $40 per month, which is extremely reasonable. You can also specify how long you will be using it. The cost would then be prorated. For example, if you will be in Scotland for 3 weeks, be sure to specify the date that you want your international plan to be activated, and to be deactivated. Since it is only for 3 weeks in this example, you should get $10 back. I expect that you will be roaming off the Vodafone network as I am. You will also discover that 3G is available on your Tour in the UK.