So I am not sure if this has been answered yet so I figured I would ask everyone who is getting a tour.

This is my first time switching to a new Blackberry. Will Backup/Restore work eventhough the OS is different from what is on my 8330?
    07-09-09 05:33 PM
    The easiest way to do this in my opinion is to have your current 8330 synced up with an e-mail address book tool like Outlook. Then just use BlackBerry Desktop Manager to do the work for you. That way when you get your Tour, you can set it up on your Desktop Manager to sync also and all your contacts will be added to the new device directly from your computer. This is what I plan to do.
    07-09-09 05:50 PM
    You can also try Google Sync Services
    07-09-09 06:12 PM
    You should be able to copy back in the Contacts database at the very least from the BackUp/Restore in DM. Look at the Advanced selection on the right. I just added stuff from a 4.2 backup to a Curve with 4.5 and it seemed to transfer most everything. Some things might not match up between OSes, but I would think they wouldn't mess with the address format much.
    07-09-09 06:24 PM
    will it work if i just totally delete desktop manager and reinstall it once i get the Tour? i have updated DM b/c i updated the OS on my 8330 and not very knowledgeable with desktop manager.

In regards to transfering my 8330 contacts over to the Tour....need help...
    07-09-09 06:26 PM
    Just use the Device Switch Wizard in the BlackBerry Desktop Manager to switch all the data over.
    07-09-09 06:28 PM
    will/can memos and existing emails that are on the 8330 be transferred to Tour as well?
    07-09-09 06:30 PM
    Also you can load a backup from one model BB to another model.

So if you come home with just the Tour and not your old BB you can load the backup from the old BB to the Tour.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-09-09 06:33 PM