I'm new to blackberry so sorry if i'm bugging out. I understand that a text message can only be 160 characters. However, on my old windows mobile phone, i can type a message thats lets say 320 characters and send it out. That person will then receive 2 messages from me. Well, today was my first time writing a text message over 160 characters on my blackberry and it stopped right at 160 so i had to send the message and then create a new message so I can continue the first one. Whats up with that? Please tell me there's a setting that I can change that...THANKS!
    07-17-09 09:12 AM
    I'm new to blackberry so sorry if i'm bugging out. I understand that a text message can only be 160 characters. However, on my old windows mobile phone, i can type a message thats lets say 320 characters and send it out. That person will then receive 2 messages from me. Well, today was my first time writing a text message over 160 characters on my blackberry and it stopped right at 160 so i had to send the message and then create a new message so I can continue the first one. Whats up with that? Please tell me there's a setting that I can change that...THANKS!
    Nope, hence the word SHORT Message Service (SMS).

If you need to write a novel, send an email instead.
    07-17-09 09:17 AM
    I could be wrong but i think Verizon limits the characters to 160 for a text message.
    07-17-09 09:18 AM
    Well, no setting, but there is an application called beyond 160. Its 6 dollars but it has a free trial for a decent amount of time. So when you get 160 characters you click the blackberry button then click go beyond 160 and you can type past 160. Go to the crackberry mobile app store, and its right there.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Nope, no setting... something to do with CDMA versions of BlackBerry

See here for solution
    Beyond160 Adds Extended/Multipart SMS Support to CDMA BlackBerrys | BerryReview.com �