I'm still pretty new to this so forgive me if this is a dumb question. What is CDMA and GSM networks and what is the difference between them? Also say for some reason I wanted to leave Sprint (doubt it would happen but you get what i'm sayin) if I took my Tour to another carrier that used GSM would it be 2G or 3G? I hope that made sense, im up on baby feeding time so my brain is not running on all 6 cylinders lol. Thanks for the help.
    09-22-09 12:45 AM
    I'll answer what I know, you could take your tour to a gsm carrier but you would first need to unlock it, to do that do a search in the forums and you should find helpful information on unlocking for free through sprint. It would also be 2g here in the United States as the gsm band only allows the tour to get 2g if you were to use it in europe it would be 3g.
    09-22-09 12:49 AM
    GSM-SimCard CDMA-IMEI er watever numbers

I know, I know...dumb~inaccurate answer but that's what i know.
    09-22-09 03:05 AM
    Here is a good place to start http://forums.crackberry.com/f139/co...embers-289903/Then use your good friend google. May want to also check out How to use SEARCH thread in my sig

Edit: Also good idea to read the BB101 Lecture Series if you havent already!
    Last edited by jgutie6634; 09-22-09 at 03:18 AM. Reason: add text
    09-22-09 03:16 AM
    GSM-SimCard CDMA-IMEI er watever numbers

I know, I know...dumb~inaccurate answer but that's what i know.
    Doesn't the Tour come with a Sim Card and work on CDMA? Not being a wise guy because I honestly have no idea of the answer here.
    09-22-09 06:43 AM
    Doesn't the Tour come with a Sim Card and work on CDMA? Not being a wise guy because I honestly have no idea of the answer here.
    The Tour is a world phone. It's primarily CDMA, but it has a GSM radio and sim card to allow you to access a GSM network overseas where CDMA is unavailable.