Hi....I'm a noob at the cb forums...got my first BB three days ago. I couldn't believe how horrible the battery life was...I had read somewhere that it should have 14days standby time and 300 minutes talk time. My battery was going from fully charged to dead in 6-7 hrs time.

Anyhow...I know alot of ppl were having this same problem...but I think I may have found out why. For the people who's battery is dying real quick...have you hooked up your phone to the newest form of Desktop Manager available? I was going thru the "Blackberry 101" on the Welcome disk (since this is my first BB), and it reads (which I found weird) in the "Battery" section: To get full charging rate make sure the Blackberry USB drivers are installed on your computer.

So...I plugged it into the computer for the first time, it downloaded some new files and put them onto my BB. Guess what:

Walahhh...made it thru the entire day and still have 75% battery power. Now, this isn't the "14 days" like I said I read...but it still is 100x better than the few hours from full to empty that I was getting yesterday. I just did this and my battery problem has seemed to go away, but again keep in mind this is only Day 1 after having the software installed.

May just be total coincidence...but its worth a shot.

*******EDIT!! Read Post 24!! That has the names of the 5 updates!

Have the people that have been having battery problems not hooked up their Tour to the computer yet and download some of the new files? I think there were four files (or maybe four steps) and then it was good.
    Last edited by Woody1786; 08-03-09 at 03:24 PM.
    07-31-09 09:20 PM
    Good observation, hope this resolves the battery issues that some have.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-31-09 09:27 PM
    This will be interesting to hear from those that have crappy battery life now.

What files were installed?
    07-31-09 09:40 PM