I've let my tour charge for the past 4 hours and have a white screen with a grey and black battery with a red slash down the center of it. I took it off the charge and tried to turn it on, and no luck. Im a blackberry newb, this is my first blackberry so yeah! Is this completely normal, and when will i know that my battery is completely charged? This wait is almost as bad as waiting for the tour to actually arrive at my house since ordering on Sunday AM!
    07-14-09 04:32 PM
    If the battery and phone are anything like the Storm, the initial charge takes approximately 10 to 14 hours.

Make sure the phone is completely charged (with bolt icon gone) before use.
    07-14-09 04:42 PM
    It doesnt matter anymore. New lithium ion batteries do not have "memory" like the old batteries used to, so it isnt a big deal. You can throw it on there for 10 minutes or so if you want and then use it.
    07-14-09 05:02 PM
    It doesnt matter anymore. New lithium ion batteries do not have "memory" like the old batteries used to, so it isnt a big deal. You can throw it on there for 10 minutes or so if you want and then use it.
    +1, you are correct. Have no fear OP.
    07-14-09 05:04 PM
    I was a bad boy. I bought mine at the beginning of my shift on sunday, and didn't get home to start charging it till 7 hours later. It was showing the "low battery" warning and had no bars on the battery symbol, but it lasted. And I used it a lot, being my first time with any BB.

Took around 3-5 hours on the wall charger to bring it from near-death to full.
    07-14-09 05:10 PM
    I bought a spare battery, fully charged it on Saturday. On Sunday, I went into the VZW store with a fully charged battery and swapped it out for the one that came in the box because I knew I would use up a lot of power with a nice new toy like this.

With age comes wisdom.
    07-14-09 05:15 PM
    did anyone read the fact that he said he tried to turn it on and had no luck?