Hey everyone sorry for this topic,but i'm just so curious.So I got my Black Berry tour like last week i'm new with the whole Black berry thing,anyways I was just wondering how would I know my 3g is on and working.? I got to the menu and I click on "Manage Connections" then I scroll down and click on "Mobile Network Options" I would think switching it to 3g or 3g,2g instead of 1XEV would be better.My problem is or i might not know but when I make the switch were it says Mobile Network it says *None* the only thing that works is 1XEV. If someone can give me any info on this its highly appreciated :/ thank you.
    07-28-09 06:41 PM
    "3G" is just what AT&T calls it, you won't see that on your Verizon phone. Its the same speed as 1XEV I believe though.
    07-28-09 06:47 PM
    Note that not all areas have 3G signals
    07-28-09 06:54 PM
    asked the same question last week and everyone said 1XEV is 3GM

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-28-09 06:54 PM
    The 3g and or 2g is only for the gsm side. The woirld part of the tour. 1XEV is what sprint and verizon use for 3g speeds on cdma

07-28-09 06:55 PM
    asked the same question last week and everyone said 1XEV is 3GM

He just answered your question. This is the right answer. But as someone else stated as well, 3G isn't available everywhere and Sprint has the fastest 3G Network.
    07-28-09 06:57 PM
    Sprint has the fastest 3G Network.
    Data supporting that somewhere?
    07-28-09 07:10 PM
    The 3g and or 2g is only for the gsm side. The woirld part of the tour. 1XEV is what sprint and verizon use for 3g speeds on cdma

If this is true.. Then why is it when you manage connections, that you have the option for selecting 2G only and the ability to select 2G and 3G?

07-28-09 07:11 PM
    The 2g 3g option is Verizon specific i think
    07-28-09 07:16 PM