ok so here's the deal

I unlocked a Tour 9630 (on OS 5.0.0.975) and was trying to find a provider here to give me a pay-as-you-go data plan. Play, ERA, and plus suck (no BB's) but Orange.pl had some Bold's so obviously Blackberries can work on their network. I got a 1 GB card to start, and their only instructions to get it to work is to change the APN setting to internet, enable authentication with L/P internet and it should just work.

So, no Browser was pushed to my phone magically (figures), there's nothing in host routing table or service book sections. 3 different stores tell me its my phone, but i'm a BES Admin and would consider myself an advanced user of BB's. So i went out on a limb and kept trying BB App world AND IT WORKS, but it seems like every app i have only gets a data connection sometimes. I'm using Bolt browser on said SIM card and i just like the other apps, i have to click links a couple of times before it connects.

BB is set to GSM, ive tried both 2G and 3G settings individually and combined, edge never shows up in caps, and it does toggle to 3G occasionally but same results. I know when i deal with Sprint for work they have to push Service Books for the browser but the idiots in the store insist that the APN is all i need for data.

I've factory reset this phone and put back in all the settings but still like i said, only kinda works. My only thought left is when i look in the event logs, I keep seeing a connection being opened and closed to net.rim.tunnel Open-emgsm.vzw3g.com ...i'm thinking that the spotty connectivity is bc it keeps trying to connect to Verizon even with an Orange SIM card. I hate the way Verizon customizes their phones

I've been killing myself for a week and a half to get this to work - pleae, if anybody has any ideas to help me out, i'd really really appreciate it!
    05-29-11 04:44 AM