So here's my problem:

My girlfriend is Swiss (but lives in the US) and likes to text with her friends/relatives in Switzerzerland. Unfortunately when we send texts to people using Swisscom from VZW it never gets there (yes I've called VZW to make sure I don't have international texting blocked). Because of this she has to have ATT or TMo (but would prefer VZW).

So here's the question - If we get her a Tour and convince VZW to unlock it and put a ATT simcard in there, can we send texts to Switzerland from the sim and make calls on VZW?

Any other suggestions short of carrying 2 phone?

Thanks!
    07-07-09 08:18 AM
    I have limited experience with this on my Storm but it worked great. I just used the manage connections icon to switch back and forth between ATT and Verizon. I got an unlock code from a third party. That was a HUGE selling point for me on teh Storm... and now the Tour. I pre-ordered!
    07-07-09 08:25 AM
    Not at the same time. I'm pretty sure you have to manually tell the phone to be GSM or CDMA (or auto but it will take CDMA if available). So she could switch to GSM and send/receive TXTs, but not make or receive CDMA calls, or do the opposite. You can't have both CDMA or GSM working at same time.

I would say your best option is to go with TMo or AT&T so you only have one account that does what you need it to do. The only other option if you definitely gotta have VZW would be to find some software/service that you can access via VZW that will send TXT to gateway and that Gateway will send to friends.

Check out Vopium at vopium . com . Looks like it will let you send txts to Switzerland for $0.14 each from any carrier, and also makes calls there for $0.14 per minute. You will be using your carriers txt/call minutes too as all you are doing is calling/txting a vopium gateway and it is bridging to the other country gateway. You can try it for free. I haven't used it but saw some good reviews and have been looking into it.