It is seeming more to me that developers and companies that require software to use their products (i.e. Slingbox and Sirius for two examples), are shunning the Torch and OS 6, simply not writing the apps to make their products work. My belief is they feel it is not worth the expense to develop the apps with QNX- based Berries due out next year. It makes me feel that the Torch is simply a "holdover" product in their eyes and not worth supporting. I love the phone but I am becoming increasingly frustrated when I want a cool app and find the Torch/ OS6 is not supported. It's been out over 4 months now. What do you think?
    Last edited by garpt; 12-20-10 at 08:09 AM.
    12-20-10 08:06 AM
    I kind of agree with you.

I have noticed some apps that were fully supported in OS5 - are not updated to os6. Granted - i am not a programmer - i am not sure what it takes to make something 6 compatable.

It is possible that companies IE : Siriues ect are waiting for qnx/already are working towards QNX due to the ability to port over quickly.

However, from a business perspective I would also think you would want your product to hit as many people as possible. Considering all current blackberrys (14.2 mill sold) are running os6.
    12-20-10 08:46 AM
    it is a little frustrating when i want an application that isn't supported but its nothing to cry about...
    12-20-10 09:59 AM
    If it was easy..then I don't see why they wouldn't just make a few code changes or whatever is necessary to make it happen for OS6..so obviously it's a little more difficult and perhaps not worth they're time and effort if, as the OP stated, there is newer BB's coming around the corner (with QNX).