I'm interested in getting a 9800, but I'm kind of in a pickle. I'm very new to Blackberry, although I've been perching on the 9800 for a few months now, so I've done a fair share of reading to try and understand the whole Blackberry experience (I'm an extremely disgruntled/dissatisfied iPhone 3G user of 2 years from Canada).

I understand that there are things such as "service books" and BB-specific, server-side considerations to this phone compared to any regular smartphone. So my question is this: does anyone have one of these working in Hong Kong?

I read through the sticky-ed unlock thread (and searched the forums to see if anyone already answered this) and it seems that while most people are able to get their 9800s up and running without a problem on their networks, some carriers (such as TMobile) will not have 3G access for an unlocked 9800. I hope I won't encounter the same problem in Hong Kong. I can't wait for an international release date (this iPhone has been long overdue for a smashing; and HK just got the white 9700), so I'm seriously considering ordering one from the States. I really hope that OS6 won't be an issue (in terms of compliance with HK carrier service books/HK BIS; or I might just have no idea what I'm even talking about, haha), since 9700 is the most recent phone here.

Advice/thoughts?
    Last edited by daytrips; 08-25-10 at 12:53 PM.
    08-25-10 12:48 PM
    TMobile US uses different 3G frequencies than AT&T. The Torch with its current specs is compatible with HK's 2G & 3G networks. Note: Torch is running OS6, so if HK's providers are not pushing service books for this OS yet, some features may not be fully functioning until they get up to speed.

HK's GSM/UMTS frequencies :
    Mobile networks - GSM and 3G coverage

Torch's specs:
    BlackBerry - Torch 9800 Specs. BlackBerry Torch specs about the new smartphone.
    08-25-10 03:12 PM