Okay. My Blackberry Curve 8900 took a run through the washing machine and no longer works... But luckily a few days before I backed up my files on my computer like I usually do once a week(incase this happens). I'm about to buy the new Blackberry Torch 9800 and I need to know, will I be able to back my Torch up with the files from my curve?! I had some important things on there.. Please help. Thanks.
    01-26-11 03:44 PM
    Im new to BB but from what I have heard yes you will be able to.
    01-26-11 03:47 PM
    Okay. My Blackberry Curve 8900 took a run through the washing machine and no longer works... But luckily a few days before I backed up my files on my computer like I usually do once a week(incase this happens). I'm about to buy the new Blackberry Torch 9800 and I need to know, will I be able to back my Torch up with the files from my curve?! I had some important things on there.. Please help. Thanks.
    Yes, you will be able to. Any emails, texts, messages, files, etc... should transfer over. Only programs, themes, and such which aren't compatable with the Torch's OS won't.

Hope that helps.
    01-26-11 03:48 PM
    You will be able to restore data from your backed up Curve file to the Torch. I did not use Device Switch through the Desktop Manager. Instead, I selected to restore data like contacts, calendar from that file.

Some people have headaches with OS5 apps trying to restore when using Device Switch, but for just putting things like Memos, contacts, etc, you won't have issues.
    01-26-11 03:49 PM
    Awesome. Really I just need my contacts, emails and saved pictures. I'm not worried about apps, I can get those easy. but yes, I needed to know about contacts and whatnot. Thank you guys!
    01-26-11 03:52 PM