so if I use "blackberry messenger" to send anything, that is free.

Yes?

Bear with me, I'm new at this.
    it's not free. it's just covered under your
    data plan. free would mean you don't have
    to pay a monthly service charge for it.

so if you have unlimited bb data, you're
    covered. if you have a limit (eg. 5gb),
    it will take away from your allotment.
    eighteez likes this.
    12-13-10 11:15 AM
    I started with the 200mb/mo data plan. $10 more to go to 2GB I think. There isnt an unlimited plan offered currently...

it's not free. it's just covered under your
    data plan. free would mean you don't have
    to pay a monthly service charge for it.
    Right. I meant free as in my monthly fee covers a million minutes of it. No worries about overages. That kind of thing.

Now... Back to BBM. If I send a million picture texts via BBM, via wifi, I neednt worry about data overages.

But if there is no wifi around, its draining my data allotment.

Yes?
    12-13-10 11:26 AM
    Now... Back to BBM. If I send a million picture texts via BBM, via wifi, I neednt worry about data overages.

But if there is no wifi around, its draining my data allotment.

Yes?
    100% correct.

The unlimited data plan is no longer available from AT&T, you have to have had it before they changed there plans a while back and be grandfathered into it.
    12-13-10 11:27 AM
    and if I send the same thing via text, the picture plus text, (since I have unlimited texts) Its not using data. Just a text.

Assuming the recipient is here in the USA also.

See how this is confusing? With no international worries, and unlimited texts, BBM will actually cost me MORE it seems.
    12-13-10 11:29 AM
    You are 100% correct. For you, Yes BBM locally(within the 50 states) would end up costing you more. while someone like myself(1500 texts and unlimited data) BBM costs me less to use.

But also remember BBM costs you nothing to use if connected to wifi.