I decided yesterday to try a program called bloc to see if I liked it better than patternlock which i have been using for a few months. After playing around for a bit I decided that although bloc is cool I missed some of the great customization features of patternlock. I was about to change back but noticed that even though bloc runs all the time (which worried me regarding battery life) , my battery life seemed better.
    Well, I have left bloc on until now and i can say, with proof, that my battery has gone from about 5% drawdown an hour to around 1%. My battery was ok before but did run short near the end of busy, long days. Today since 6.30 am I am still at 92%. This is way better than before.

I am sorry to make this story long but my real question is.... can it be patternlock that causes such a difference in battery life. I dont see how it can be coincidence. I want to go back to it but I am really loving this great extra life. I wont have to ever worry about going dead in a day.

Any thoughts on this....

12-28-10 11:18 AM
    Could be. I don't have pattern lock or any weather updates and I can easily go two full days (though I usually charge my phone every night) with heavy texting and web browsing.
    Facebook notifications are the only things other then email that I have pushed to my phone. Twitter I just check every couple hours

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    12-28-10 11:44 AM
    It's definitely possible that PatternLock was creating your battery drain issues, While it may seem odd, Small (relatively so) apps like that can actually be a huge CPU/Memory/Battery hog just as much, if not more, than bigger apps like Twitter for BlackBerry and BerryWeather, depending on how they've been coded by their respective developer.