Hi all,

Please be kind this is my first post and i am a bit of a newbie with the blackberrys,

Rite to begin, 6 months ago i took out a pay monthly Blackberry curve 8520 from virgin, i had the the works thrown in, unlimited email, unlimited internet etc.

2 days ago i thought i would upgrade and so brought a new blackberry 9800 of ebay, it was originally locked to the vodafone network but i had it unlocked to take my virgin sim card..... Now i can get a signal and make phone calls and send texts but cant acces facebook or internet or BBM.

I did some digging around on the net and heard a lot about host routes, service books which all seemed too much for my small brain to take. thats when i came across this forum so decided to join to see if you guys could help me.

I have read the thread at the top titled- Unlocked 9800 - Everything works - Instructions

Would this help me in my situation? could i use the girlfriends curve 8520 in the same way he used the 9700?

are there any other options or have i been stupid and the phones now only good for calling texting and bein used as a paperweight

cheers in advance.
    11-24-10 09:43 AM
    You are going to have to some how get virgin mobile's service books. Here is a link on how to get service books off your 8520.

Blackberry service books for virgin mobile

Just use the same process but use restore instead of back-up when sending the service books on the Torch. Good luck
    cannockvxr likes this.
    11-24-10 09:50 AM
    ok cheers, have just had a quick read thorugh and will ggive it a go later...if it works i will be the happiest chap in the uk!!
    11-24-10 10:05 AM
    ok cheers, have just had a quick read thorugh and will ggive it a go later...if it works i will be the happiest chap in the uk!!