Hey guys,

I have tried doing some searches on the forums with regards to the following questions, but I see many conflicting responses. I am hoping to get some clear answers as I am new to the BB family (Torch) and want to take care of my phone as best as possible. I appreciate you taking the time out to reply to these questions, which are probably old and redundant to some of your pros

1. What exactly is the difference between a soft and hard reset? (some say that a hard reset is actually a "data wipe" while others say it is simply a battery pull.

2. If the hard reset is simply a battery pull, does that battery pull need to be done with the phone ON (as many suggest) or OFF...or does it not matter, as long as the battery is pulled, it constitutes a hard reset?

3. Are there any chances of damaging the phone by pulling out the battery while it's on?

4. When should a hard reset be done? In other words, should I do it when the phone freezes up and/or errors occur or is it good practice to do it every now and then to optimize the phones performance?

One last question(s) with regards to the ALT+LGLG trick

5. Is it safe to clear the information kept there, if so, how often should I do it? What exactly does this do anyway? In addition, I notice that if I go to options in that menu, it allows me to access "information", "warning" and "Debug info"...will clearing the "Event Log (Information) page clear everything or do I need to go into the other two subsections and manually clear there as well?

Thank you again and I'm sorry if this isn't threadworthy.
    01-09-11 01:27 AM
    Let me see if I can help you out a little bit.

1) A soft reset is simply pulling the battery while a hard reset is completely wiping the phone.

2) Different people have different opinions on this; I usually do it with the phone on. When I used to work for Big Red, they taught us to have the customers do it with the phone on. I'm not sure what difference it makes.