I am looking for a thread or would like to create one that will instruct a newbie on how to clean up (or hide) those apps I don't want or use, on the main screen. Also would like to know recommendations as to best apps to have, that don't suck memory. (Maybe an app to free up wasted space?)
    Thanks for some direction!
    09-17-10 03:26 PM
    I'm a Blackberry noob as well. I just created a "Junk" folder and moved all the icons for any apps I don't use into that folder, and then just moved that to the bottom of the list. Once I decide I really don't want one of those apps, I can delete it off the phone for good, but for now at least they are out of the way.

You can also hide the app icon by selecting it, hitting the BB menu button, and selecting 'Hide'. Or on the Torch, just hold your finger on the icon on the screen for a second, and select 'Hide' from the menu that pops up.

I did the folder thing before I found the 'Hide' option.
    09-17-10 03:39 PM
    You're most likely in 'Show All' mode. Click the BB key, and you should see a check mark next to the Show All option. If it's not checked, then click it; if it's already checked, then exit from the menu.

With the trackpad, highlight the icons you don't want to see (don't open them) and click the BB key, or touch and hold them on the screen until you see an Options menu, then click or tap Hide. The icon is still visible, but you'll notice that it's now faded.

Once you've hidden all the icons you don't want to see, click the BB key again, then uncheck Show All. Everything you marked as 'Hide' should be gone.

I'd like to get ride of a few of the home screen pages myself. I have no use for Downloads or Media -- they'd be fine in a folder of their own instead of a whole menu page. Don't see much of a need for Favorites or Frequent, either. Maybe in BB6.1...
    09-17-10 04:02 PM