I have been using a Torch 9800 since shortly after it was released. I've been using Blackberries for over 5 years now, but I'm gradually losing faith in RIM. Every so often I visit Crackberry.com and check out the 9800 forum to see what's new, often hoping for a big software update.

Each time I'm saddened to see users clamoring over tiny little incremental updates: 6.0.0.XXXXXXXXX, now your dialing doesn't pause or you can swipe to another picture without having to scroll in a circle or something equally as miniscule.

This is an OS that has been out for what, nearly 2 years now? And it has yet to even reach 6.1? Is it too much to ask to even give small updates like editable home screens like the later OS's have or an updated touch keyboard auto-correct dictionary that's worth a damn? (Seriously iPhone and Android know how to do this, why can't RIM; I'm always correcting the phone, IF I even enable auto-correct or predictive).

Even OS 4 got up to what, 4.5? It's shameful how RIM leaves its users left behind.

What I've read about the new dev devices sounds promising: Android apps and internet options without BIS. These things alone could help put them on par with other smartphones, but the latter is something that should have been done several years ago.

I've gone from being a Blackberry loyalist to feeling so disappointed in them. It's like a relationship where you keep hoping the other person will give you more than what they have been, and you keep hanging on thinking of how good they used to be.

Frankly, when I get my next phone, chances are slim to none it will be Blackberry. I've gone from loving this company to feeling that if their market share keeps slipping and they fail, they may be just getting what they deserve. They've ignored consumer needs for too long and have been far to slow to change.

So, consider this a breakup, RIM. It's not me, it's you.
    05-17-12 07:47 PM
    It's never good to stay in an abusive relationship (perceived or real).