My mum wants a smart phone, and from what I've been reading, it seems like the Torch would be a good bet. She likes my iPhone (which makes one of us...), but she really likes physical keyboards and wasn't a big fan of the idea of having a phone that's entirely touch screen.

I thought I could help her figure it out and set it up for her, preferably to make the transition as easy as possible. Any tips? What are some good apps that are preferably free and useful to the average smart phone user? I think she'll use Facebook, a weather app, and possibly a battery meeter. Are there any good apps for people who like to cook? I'm completely new to the world of Blackberry, but will probably get one for myself when my contract is up.
    11-25-10 06:54 PM
    There's 2 main sources for apps, BlackBerry App World and the CrackBerry Superstore (aka Mobihand). Both can be used online via your PC or via their own apps on your BB. (App World will come pre-loaded, but you'll have to download the CB Superstore app.)

For free apps, it's preferable to get them from App World. App World is the only place that informs you of updates to free apps.

Both App World and CB Superstore notify you of updates to paid apps you've purchased, but CB Superstore dependably notifies you right away. App World delays the release of updates, then often does a gradual roll-out.

The CrackBerry site also has a page with links for free apps:
    http://m.crackberry.com/free-blackberry-apps

In the Forums, there is an Apps Forum you can review/search for info as well.

Both offer good search engines too; you don't find something on one then check out the other.
    11-25-10 08:27 PM
    My mum wants a smart phone, and from what I've been reading, it seems like the Torch would be a good bet. She likes my iPhone (which makes one of us...), but she really likes physical keyboards and wasn't a big fan of the idea of having a phone that's entirely touch screen.