I've been following the Blackberry Torch for many months now, ever since it was rumored their could be a Blackberry slider phone, so probably half a year +? Anyways, I'm Canadian and of course it's been pushed back and it's given me time to read a lot of threads on this site that put the Torch down. I really want to like the torch but I can't with all the negative feedback. I've gone from Storm, to Curve 8530, to Storm again, back to my Curve and now that's where I am. I loved my Storm, but it kept breaking, and I'm not a fan of the Curve either, I feel it's at the bottom of the blackberry world. Basically I need my blackberry for:

-BBM - This is my first year of University, so I moved 2 hours away from my girlfriend of 4 1/2 years. I need my BBM, and I need it to be reliable.

-Calendar Functions - Are they upgraded? I'm taking Pre-med and my schedule is crazy at the moment.

-Mobile Internet - I use about 50MB of internet each bill period, not including streaming of messaging or anything. With the webkit browser I'm assuming it's a lot better but I need confirmation

-SMS - Not as important, but I'm still a teenager and I text my friends. I heard they removed the 140 cap so you can type whatever you want and it will space it out into messages? Or will I have to download Crunch again?

-Battery Life - There's a couple days of the week where I leave my house at 7am, and don't get home until nearly 1. Not all classes, but it's Friday and I like to go out. Will the battery last?

Thanks for all of your help, and please don't be biased by my age or if you hate the phone. I'd just like to know before I invest in it.
    09-26-10 11:41 AM