Hi guys.. I'm new to BB.. this is my 1st BB ever..
    But I found out something different with my friend's BB 9700..

I would like to put password on my BB Torch, when I enabled the password & saved the changes that I made, after I locked it, it doesn't prompt me any password to key in.. I can just unlock as if I never enable the password settings.. but as what I know other BB will prompt the password immediately once you saved & locked it. In order to made the latest settings work, I need to restart my BB and it will appeared.

anybody know what happen? I brought it to the shop and they told me it's because of the new OS 6.. but I'm not so sure as OS 6 supposed to be more convenience than the previous OS..

thanks guys!
    11-08-10 09:29 AM
    Set the password to your liking. You need to the lock the device with the "password lock" icon vs the button on top of the phone which is only a screen lock.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-08-10 09:47 AM
    Set the password to your liking. You need to the lock the device with the "password lock" icon vs the button on top of the phone which is only a screen lock.

hi Shansmi.. thanks for your reply..
    what do you mean by the password lock icon? which one is that?
    but I've tried my friend's BB 9700 & curve,it will automatically prompt you to key-in the password once you (only) lock the screen, am I right?
    11-08-10 09:55 AM
    Only if they are running a VERY old OS. On the Bold loads at 500+ function they way your Torch does. When you enable and set a password, there is a new icon that gets added to your homescreen named "password lock". This will password lock your device. The button on the top just locks the screen - not password protected.

You can then use a free app called autolock to lock your device when the screen dims.

11-08-10 10:26 AM
    THe easiest way is to use keyboard short cut ( K)
    11-08-10 03:23 PM