This is my first Blackberry and I'm sort of reserved on installing software leaks -- call me a rookie. Anyway, I'm with Telus and it came with .246 version, which is the latest official version, I think. How long can one typically expect BB to have an OFFICIAL new release and send it out to a provider? I don't really have a problem with the way .246 runs (if it ain't broke...) and I guess I'm sort of nervous about doing the whole uninstall, reinstall business, being that I'm new to it. Are the leaks normally just a work in process?
    I know the apprehension -- I felt the same way when the .246 leak came out just days after I got my Torch. The directions provided by many members here are very thorough and accurate. You do need to pay pretty close attention to what you're doing, but for the most part it's very straightforward and only takes about 20-30 minutes from start to finish.

Leaked OS's are usually in final form from RIM and are just awaiting the carriers to verify them before they become 'official', which can take months from the time RIM releases them. With very few exceptions (.448 apparently being one of them), they hit the streets ready for prime time.

When I first got this Torch, I had never installed a leak, and in fact I may only have installed one official OS upgrade on my Bold before that. I was just as hesitant as you are when that first leak came out. But with the great information available here from some helpful members, upgrades are a piece of cake. Jump over to the Leaked/Beta OS forum and have a look at what's there.

If you decide to give it a whirl, be patient -- some of the download sites are very slow if you're not paying for their premium service.

Oh yeah, btw ... I did install .450 late last night (after installing .448 just a few hours before!). No problems at all. Biggest improvement I've noticed is the touch screen when browsing is much more precise. Definitely recommend it.
    Last edited by 18to12fitty; 01-29-11 at 10:59 AM.