04-29-10 10:04 PM
39 12
tools
    There are a few threads on CB that asks for general opinions of the VZ Navigator, but not one that discusses tips and tricks and how-tos. I'm a BB newbie but I have used VZ Nav. almost since it came out. So I thought I would start a new thread and see if there are tricks I can learn from anyone or if I could offer any help or advice.

I love my VZ Navigator, and I LOVE it on the Storm! Here are the pros and cons, I think, to the VZ Navigator:

PROS
    1. clear, turn-by-turn directions that are voiced (which google maps cannot do)
    2. frequent updates
    3. ability to customize many settings
    4. ease of use
    5. a lot of useful info that elimates the need for other applications - such as weather, entertainment guides (movies, restaurants, etc.)
    6. ability to send your location to any other verizon subscribers (i LOVE this function!)
    7. traffic advisory - I can't tell you how many times this has saved me from being late to work. If you look at a map of your route, you can see little triangles telling you there are accidents. They even tell you what it is!
    7. accuracy - most important!
    8. on the Storm, the screen is so big it is SICK - it's like you have your own "real" GPS device!

CONS
    ....and my way of dealing with the CONS
    1. Sometimes unreliable service: Since the service depends on phone connection, if you are in a remote area, you're out of luck! I learned my lesson and I always look ahead of the steps so at least I know approximately where to go before I start driving. That usually does the trick!