First of all, I'm fairly new to BB's and am NOT experienced with upgrading OS's. I still have .75 on my Storm and have been happy with it but .148 has some improvments that I would like. I have read the noob guides to upgrading the OS and about 100 more pages on the subject but I have a couple of questions that hopefully I can have answered.

First of all, if I plug my Storm into DM (ver 4.7), it now, as of about 1 hour ago, shows .148 available as a preferred update available to be installed. I didn't see this mentioned in the noob guide. Do I still have to download the OS to my computer or do I just follow the steps on DM?

If I still have to download the OS to my computer I have not been able to find it on Verizon's web site. I went through "BlackBerry's Download Site" which took me to Verizon's BB software update page which appears to only have .75 available. Am I correct in having to wait until June 3rd for it to show up there?

The noob guides mention using DM version 4.5. Is there any differences in using DM 4.7?

Which method would be better for me to use - DM or the Application Loader method? Will I lose my 3rd party apps?

And last, I have done a backup, including a 3rd party backup. Any last suggestions?

Thank you very much for any help!
    06-01-09 01:08 AM
    See my answers in blue.

First of all, I'm fairly new to BB's and am NOT experienced with upgrading OS's. I still have .75 on my Storm and have been happy with it but .148 has some improvments that I would like. I have read the noob guides to upgrading the OS and about 100 more pages on the subject but I have a couple of questions that hopefully I can have answered.