I have just bought a Blackberry storm and in the top bar where it says you have a new email it says I have one unread email (it doesn't have the red blotch though). Yet when I go into my email to read it it says no new emails.. When I do actually get a new email the top bit says 2 new emails and the bottom says only 1 and when I open it up there is only 1. Any ideas??? very confused!!
    01-07-09 04:05 AM
    Welcome to the forums, Leah.

Your question is kinda wordy and confusing but I did a simple search using the keywords "unread, email, icon" and got a long list of threads that have something to do with that, and I am thinking that if you click within a few of these there will be some answers.

http://forums.crackberry.com/search....archid=8487458

Sorry I can't directly answer but this might do the trick. There's a lot to take in on a new device so just be patient. I'm still learning everyday as well!

The 'red blotch'.......hhmmmmmmmm what is that?
    01-07-09 04:16 AM
    if it's shaped like a phone lying on its side it is a missed call.
    below the time and date

the red blotch she is referring to is an asterisk i believe...
    01-07-09 04:36 AM
    I am liking the "red blotch"!!! Welcome to crackberry.. There are tons of info on this topic... My phone does this every now and then for no apparent reason.. I just have learned to live w/ it?!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    01-07-09 06:47 AM
    have you checked your messages folder?
    01-07-09 12:47 PM
    I had run into the same problem. Go into the application menu and click on search. If you scroll down to "Show:", one of the options is "Unopened Only". That will bring up all your unopened email.
    03-25-09 02:46 PM
    Could be a missed call. Sometimes if I miss a call, both the little phone icon, and a message icon show up.

Try going into your call log and click on any missed calls. This should make the little envelope go away.
    03-25-09 02:53 PM