Just bought a HP Mini and tethered it to the Storm. Works like a champ!!!! I was surprised how fast Verizon's 3G network works, faster than my DSL at home.

My son plays travel baseball and we're on the road every Friday through Sunday typically staying in hotels and spending all day at the park. I figured the money I'll be saving from paying Internet connection charges at hotels and being able to access the Internet while at the fields all day will be priceless.

The Storm handles 75% of my computing needs when I'm on the road however having the ability to access the web with a Mini makes me believe I'm ready for anything thrown my way work wise.

Who else tethers on a regular basis? Any surprises I should know about?
    02-20-09 07:03 AM
    Just out of curiosity, how much did you pay for the hp mini. I am in the market for a small netbook type laptop. I am a writer, and have a work laptop but don't like using that to do any of my writing on. I also have a tendency to do my writing in weird places (whenever the mood strikes me.) Which can put me in weird places.

I am pricing out small laptops like the eee and the hp mini to see where I can get the best deal, without sacrificing too much power... maybe a small netbook that will still let me play the occasional WoW quest as well.

I will tether once I get my own laptop instead of piggy-backing off my Universities laptop.
    Last edited by DankJemo; 02-20-09 at 07:42 AM.
    02-20-09 07:39 AM
    $399 at Best Buy. I choose the HP over the others due to the larger keyboard which will come in handy for typing documents and long emails. The HP is more expensive than the others however you do get more bang for your buck. Also, the HP screen is really sharp compared to the others.
    02-20-09 07:46 AM