I charged my Storm last night and unplugged it this morning around 7 AM. It's now 3 pm and the battery is down to 75%. I haven't really used it at all throughout the day ... received 1 text message, made 1 phone call and looked up a location on Google maps. I am connected to Gmail app but not to the Google Talk app.

Is this normal? 25% drop in 8 hours of use?
    12-18-08 02:14 PM

Then pick your email option.

As I have in other batt. threads I suggest uninstalling VVM if you don't plan to use it. Did that on our 2 Storms and have gone from daily charges to not having had to charge in almost 3 days now.
    What is VVM and what is it used for? I'm new to Blackberry and I'm still trying to figure things out.
    12-22-08 02:50 AM
    I work for a major mobile phone retailer in the uk and have done for about 5 1/2 years.
    Ive seen alsort's of issues to do with battery life and related problems with various different manufacturers, it does not supprise me that there are so many people experiencing low to down right terrible battery life on the storm.
    To start with we all have to realise that the phone you have choosen purchase is a smart phone and one of the most advanced on the market. FACT no current smart phones have a very good battery life and that is even more relivent with newly released smart phones which are running on early firmware versions.
    Once you get past the fact that you battery life is never going to be as good as a much less complex device then your halfway there.

Here's a couple of steps you can take to try and increase battery life.
    1) Always update your software version.
    2) Always close anything you do when your finished.
    3) Turn the sreen brightness down.
    4) Never over charge the battery.(this can damage it).
    5) To start with make sure your discharging the battery before recharging.

6) This one's a quick couple of work arounds.