Hey guys I am new to the whole smart phone / blackberry thing so forgive me if this has been covered as I did search first.

Anyways i work in a hospital and have little to no coverage at all now some of the other guys that I work with use alltell, sprint and some of the others and they all have great service pretty much wherever they are and I do know that sprint has "boosters" through out the hospital as that is the provider for there phone service. Is there anything besides turning off the world mode I can do to get better service.

Thanks Tom
    02-26-09 07:58 PM
    unfortunately no, if they're not putting boosters for Verizon in for you. Hospitals have alot of shielding for things like radiation. My friends all have the same issues. Could just be that the other carriers have a tower closer to the hospital than vzw, or in the case of sprint, the booster is helping.

Vzw recently bought alltel, so unless you're in divested market, you may be able to use the alltel tower soon.
    02-26-09 08:42 PM
    it's technically a repeater, or could be a device called a femtocell.

repeater takes a signal and rebroadcasts it at a higher power than your phone can. so that tower that you only got one bar from, your signal was rebroadcast so that that tower can pick you up.

A femtocel (network extender) connects to a broadband connection and takes you call. It routes it over the internet to VZW, rahter than going through a tower and switch to the MSC.
    02-26-09 08:48 PM
    unfortunately no, if they're not putting boosters for Verizon in for you. Hospitals have alot of shielding for things like radiation. My friends all have the same issues. Could just be that the other carriers have a tower closer to the hospital than vzw, or in the case of sprint, the booster is helping.

Vzw recently bought alltel, so unless you're in divested market, you may be able to use the alltel tower soon.